Silver Bullion VS Silver Rounds

in #silver7 years ago

Which do you go for? The bullion which has a premium? Or the rounds which are cheaper and closest to the Silver spot price?
As the spot price has hit $17 just recently I thought I would post a topic relating to Silver, So lets dive right in.

I personally prefer stacking Government minted coins like the American Eagle, The Canadian Maple and the Philharmonic. These are all well known Government minted coins all over the globe. I do also like to stack rounds too like the Sunshine Minting Corporation round and bar. But why is one better than the other?
Well they aren't necessarily better than the other, but it all comes down to your investment strategy and also your liquidation strategy.

If I was to buy American Silver Eagles I would pay a premium on top of the coin as opposed to Generic Silver rounds, but When I want to liquidate those Eagles I would get the premium back and more than likely most coin shops will be more than willing to buy it from me. Also government minted coins are recognized all over the globe so you can sell to most people as they are very iconic and recognizable coins.

Generic Silver rounds are very very good at getting more Silver for you moneys worth so you can maximize your profit when prices of Silver go up which is great, BUT they do not hold the reputation that the government mint coins have so you may have difficulty try to liquidate them into the market through private sales or through a coin shop. Also Generic silver to a lot of people just doesn't have the appeal that Government minted coins have as the market in my opinion has a lot of rubbish out there with poor looking designs.
Another problem I would have with generic is that if I was in a tight spot in another country, I don't feel very confident trying to sell some Generic silver to a merchant as they do not hold the same reputation as an American Eagle would hold.

IMG_4714.JPG

Sort:  

When it comes to silver I buy bars or rounds that have an easy resale value. Also from dealers that will buy back the product.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60898.61
ETH 2626.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61