Silver Stacking Top 5 Coins to Stack

in #silver6 years ago (edited)

Snapshot 2 (4-20-2017 10-37 PM).png

#SilverTorch66 presents a new mini series discussing my top 5 silver stacking choices. The subject of this video is my "Silver Stacking Top 5 Coins to Stack."

You can read the blog below or just watch the video above. Enjoy!

Before I reveal my list I should state that these are my choices of #silver coins to stack based on my stacking strategies and goals. This list will certainly not suit every silver stacker out there because silver stacking is such a personal endeavor . There are infinite possibilities and options when it comes to #stacking and each individual has to seek their own path.
Then you may ask, why even present my top five stacking lists. Well….. my answer is…… I feel that when a new stacker is considering to stack precious metals it is important they are exposed to as many different philosophies, strategies, techniques and opinions as possible so they may form their own informed decision based on all of our experiences both positive and negative. When I first discovered silver stacking videos, I was looking for short to the point solid facts and experienced opinions to help me make my early decisions. And to this day, I still seek and value the opinions of other stackers to assess why and how they choose to accumulate precious metals.

There is a degree of flexibility that has to be accepted when stacking over the course of many years and you must also possess the discipline to stay true to your fundamental stacking strategies and goals.

To better understand why I have chosen these particular coins as my top five for #stacking, you should know that I fundamentally stack for wealth retention. I don’t do much flipping of my #bullion. For those who may not be familiar with the term, it means to buy a piece of silver that you feel it’s premium will quickly appreciate in value so you can sell it for a quick profit on the secondary market. The silver I stack is more geared toward acquiring it as close to spot as possible storing and protect it for many months or even many years until the spot price for silver rises enough that I feel it is right to sell or transfer into another investment asset. A big part of my decision-making process for buying bullion is factoring its liquidity and making sure there are "buyers" or market out there for my particular bullion when it comes time to sell.
20161215_155343.jpg

So let’s get started.
My top coin to stack is the American Silver Eagle. It serves as the foundation for my stack. For me a foundation means that ASE’s consist of about 60% of my volume of bullion…. 20% of my stack consists of other sovereign coins….. 10% generic varieties of rounds, bars and poured pieces and the final 10% is my constitutional silver.

I feel that the American Silver Eagle is the most recognizable form of bullion in the world. In North America, I believe it to be the most liquidable form of bullion that precious metal dealers, businesses and citizens would accept for goods and services. It can be usually bought between $2.00 and $3.00 over spot and it’s selling trend is that is can consistently be sold for a price usually a dollar or so over spot. For me, I stack the eagles with the expectation of selling at a future spot price and nothing more! I consider them to be a true bullion item without numismatic or collection value. I do not place them in individual capsules but store them as the mint sends them to me in their original mint tubes. I have no issue with acquiring secondary market ASE’s which are usually discounted due to minor imperfections. As long as they are 31.1 grams of three nines fine silver, they hold the same value to me as a shiny new eagle right out of the mint press..
I care not if they are handled without gloves, or if they have y scratches or milk spots because I expect nothing more than the value of the metal for which they are made. I am not married to the coins and feel no sentimental attachment to them. When it comes time to sell, they will easily leave my possession. They are the heart and soul of my stack!

20170211_150810.jpg

The next coin in my top 5 is the Canadian Maple. In North America, I believe the maple to be the second most recognizable #bullion coin behind the American Eagle. They are made of the finest grade of silver with four nines purity. The Maple can usually be bought for less than an eagle but usually is bought back slightly less than an eagle. There is no doubt that in Canada, it would be the number one choice for buying goods and services and I feel would be readily accepted by most Canadian citizens. If I felt, for whatever reason, I needed to leave America, I feel I would have a higher chance of survive-ability in Canada. I also feel that my Eagles would also be accepted as wealth along with my Maples. Again like the Eagles, I consider Maples to be bullion and expect nothing more that spot price when I need to use them. I don’t handle them with gloves, nor do I care if they have milk spots. One troy ounce of four nines silver is all that matters to me.

1465805810_s-l1600.jpg
The next coin is any denomination of 90% constitutional silver. Any US coinage dated prior to 1965. Dimes, quarters, half dollars or dollars. In North America , I believe that these coins would be identified by most as an item of value and therefore would be accepted as payment for good and services. They exist in denominational amounts of silver which may be more practical to use for most minor expenses rather than a full ounce of pure silver which might hold considerably more value in the future. The key to #stacking constitutional silver is ensuring you pay as close to spot as possible. And Fortunately, there are frequently such opportunities to do so. You just have to keep your eyes peeled.

20180404_162725.jpg

The next coin on my list is the Mexican Libertad. This coin makes my list for several good reasons. The first is the proximity of this coins origin country to America. Secondly, a record 33.7 million Hispanics of Mexican origin resided in the United States in 2012, according to an analysis of Census Bureau data by Pew Research Center. So, if I ever needed to conduct business with any of these individuals, I feel they would certainly value the Libertad and might even prefer it over the Eagle, especially if they are frequently traveling back and forth from Mexico. The Libertad is a high quality sovereign #bullion coin that is minted every year in seven different weights starting with the 1/20 and 1/10 ounce sizes which, like the US constitutional coins could potentially be very useful for minor purchases. Then the Libertad also is minted in a ¼, ½, as well as the 1 ounce, which really provides versatility for the spend-ability of this coin. And in the event that your commerce needs exceed the value of a one ounce weight of silver, you're in luck because the Libertad is also minted in 2 and 5 ounce weights! There is no doubt in my mind that the Libertad in any of these seven weights needs to be part of my stack.

20170211_145958_001.jpg

And my final choice for the Top 5 silver coins I stack is; the Austrian Philharmonic. This coin is not as common in North America and I would probably have a difficult time convincing an average North American citizen that it was valuable. However, I feel it's important to have enough diversity in my stack to provide me with the best chances for retaining my wealth. If I ever found myself in Europe or dealing with a European, I feel that the Philharmonic would be there #bullion of choice, especially if they were going to be traveling back to Europe with them. The premiums on Philharmonics are reasonable and they are readily available in most markets. Like the others, they are strictly bullion to me and are treated as such!

So, to sum things up……my top 5 silver stacking coins are:

The American Silver Eagle

Canadian Maple

Any denomination of Constitutional pre 1965 U.S. coins

The Mexican Libertad

And finally the Austrian Philharmonic

This top 5 list is based on my stacking strategies and goals and may not necessarily be right for you. I only hope that my explanations for my choices are able to resonate with you to assist you in deciding which coins are best for your stack.

If your top #stacking coins differ from mine, let me know in the comments section below so we can all compare notes and see where we are at!

Thank you to all who support #silvertorch66 Visit my web site at: www.silvertorch66.com

Sort:  

@torch66, welcome and congratulations on making your first post! I gave you a $.05 vote! If you would be so kind to give me a follow in return, that would be most kind of you!!

Thank you for your welcome and the kind vote! Returned!

Hey @torch66, great post! I enjoyed your content. Keep up the good work! It's always nice to see good content here on Steemit! Cheers :)

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65687.24
ETH 3269.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69