Unboxing my 100 ounce silver bar

in #silver7 years ago (edited)

This morning I had the pleasure to have my 100 ounce silver bar delivered by UPS. I ordered the silver bar via GoldMoney.com a few weeks ago.

silver_bar_1.jpg

Let me first say that the GoldMoney service is truly amazing! The website is really user friendly and their customer support usually replies within hours. Their pricing is also very reasonable.

I prefer keeping my money with GoldMoney instead of a bank where you actually don't own your own money.

With the price of Ether going up so much in the last months, I converted some of my gains in to gold. So to diversify my holdings more. Remember that you can actually buy gold via GoldMoney with any cryptocurrency supported by ShapeShift.io.

For some reason, Steem is not supported anymore. Steem was one of the tokens you could trade with ShapeShift, up to a few months ago. I am not sure why this was discontinued.

Anybody knows why?

Why silver? Well, in my opinion, silver is highly undervalued. The most undervalued type of money is obviously Steem. But I would say that silver comes in second.

The gold silver ratio is about 1 to 75, and that is historically high.

You can see some images of the unboxing below:

UPS_box.jpg

UPS_box2.jpg

UPS_package.jpg

Here you can see the size of the 100 ounce bar compared to a ten trillion dollar note.

Did I mention I am a multi trillionaire?

trillion_dollar.jpg

Remember that value is always subjective, though. Cats, for example, find plastic and carton way more valuable.

A silver bar? Not so much.

cats.jpg

cats2.jpg

Now let's go bury this brick in the yard!

Keep you posted!

The Monetary Few

Sort:  

Hahaha! Multi trillionaire! I had some of these. I remember seeing something like 200,000% inflation for Zimbabwe on TV. It was surreal!

Oh and it's a nice bar by the way!

The value is always relative ;)

Hi @themonetaryfew
Please explain how goldmoney works when you want to redeem your metal, did you pay VAT (IVA) on that silver? How much was shipping to PT? I've only used bitgild.com so far but haven't found a way to dodge VAT on silver, only by driving to Andorra, which is not very practical.
P.S. It's a shame we lost half our gold reserves between Mario Soares and Cavaco, without any kind of public referendum...
Cheers!

Hi,

I had to pay for shipping (I believe, not sure now). I don't think I paid VAT, but I had to pay quite some in import taxes. So in the end I paid about 25% in taxes, certainly something to take in account.

I'm not sure if it is more profitable to just wire the money to your bank account and just buy the silver locally.

Ok thanks for replying!

My awesome dad recently gifted me my first silver bar (yay Christmas cheer)! I'm pretty excited, for some reason I hadn't really thought about using metals to diversify wealth before. Although it does make me want to get an apocalypse bag together !

Looks so sexy :* ♡♡♡♡

I agree that gold and silver both are drastically undervalued and if you invest into them now you could be swimming in a pool on money in the future.
@themonetaryfew, I've seen you have been upvoting and supporting my blogs and comments and I can't thank you enough.
You are the reason why this community is so great and the reason I keep coming back to steemit everyday.
I can't convey my gratitude enough, all I can do is follow you and upvote your content.
Thank you so much :)

Thanks for the reply!

Very welcome on the upvotes! I saw you were quite active in the comments of other articles and decided to check out your page.

Keep 'm coming!

Happy to be your 400th follower @themonetaryfew ! and nice roll of Zimbawean toilet paper you've got there!

Thanks!

I wish I had the 100 trillion dollar note too. But it is a rather expensive souvenir nowadays.

Congrats on your bar! Looks nice

Thanks man!

Is that you, @jesta ?

I am not @jesta

I am posting from his chainbb forums

Holy moly! That's one big bar!
Love the curious cats. Last pic is awesome! :) <3

Thanks!

The cats loved the packaging...

Hmm. Looks more like they're about to kill each other... Haha! Do they fight sometimes?

They do...

Often, it's hard to tell if they are playing or fighting.

Oh.. ^^' That's a real shame

That brick looks nice!
Silver is a great investment !
I think your cats think so as well ;)

Great bar, The mass must be so deceiving only the length of the pencil. PS i'm also starting to think every silver stacker is also a cat owner.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95