9999 Fine Silver VS 999 Fine Silver

in #silver7 years ago

Hey there everyone

I wanted to take a quick second to talk about the differences between "four nines fine" silver and "three nines fine silver"

What does this mean for you as a stacker? Do you prefer one over the other?

I hope you enjoy!

Sort:  

Agree. What do you say about milk spots? Maple leaf almost always gets milk spots. Do you think it's related to purity? Coins with 999 do not get as easy milks of my experience.

A lot of people say its related to the purity, and the the four nines fine is actually a curse. I think I agree with this....my 9999 stuff always spots...

Ok I didn't find the same article I read a few years ago, but this one has the same content. btw Theswede, I followed you:
http://www.coinweek.com/education/coin-grading/ngc/coin-analyst-collectors-crying-milk-spotted-american-silver-eagles/

Thanks! Will read now :) Followed back!

I think it was Provident Metals that wrote a letter to the Royal Canadian Mint and asked about the milk spots and Provident published the reply. In a nut shell, RCM said they don't care about milk spots and we shouldn't either. I can try to find it again if you'd like.

I read about that once, but I didn't fully understand it. It didn't seem like much difference so I disregarded the info. Thanks for bringing it up again. Three 9s is good enough for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36