Top 5 Things Not To Buy When Silver Stacking

in #silver7 years ago
  1. Fractional Silver
    Fractional Silver is one of, if not the biggest rip off in all of silver stacking. For one, there is simply no real purpose of buying it other than for use in an economic collapse, in which case, constitutional silver will serve just as well. Also, the average one gram silver bar sells for double or triple melt value, and they are just as generic as a 10 oz Sunshine Mint bar, which JM Bullion sells for melt or right above.

  2. Any bullion graded MS69 or below
    Any bullion piece, wether it is a first strike or not, will never gain much value as an MS69. Just to prove this point, look at the first year of the ASE. In MS69, the 1986 ASE sells for $40 to $50, but in MS70, it sells for several thousand. This is especially true today, with how prominent grading really is, and even some MS70's never see too much value, so an MS69 doesn't have a chance. If you want true ROI, then stick with First Day Strike and other specialty MS70 coins. Just to give an example of this working for me, I'll mention my 2016 Gold Foil 1 of 2016 First Day West Point Strike MS70 eagle. This coin, when I bought it, cost $85. 3 months later, I watched one sell for over $200. Now, you can't even find them.

  3. Weird Art Bars
    When I say weird art bars, I'm not talking about rare Engelhard poured bars. I'm talking about the weird "Happy Birthday" or some other random message ones that pop up on eBay, and cost two or three times melt. They will never see any value, as they are produced by some random manufacturer that carries no weight in this community. I could pour a silver bar, and it'd only sell for melt, because, as a silver pourer, nobody knows who I am. It is the same with these bars.

  4. Coins Graded By Random Companies
    If you have been collecting slabbed coins, chances are, you know exactly what I'm talking about. If not, let me explain. I'm speaking of random companies who grade coins, and are often very off from the true grade of the coin. These companies will often clean coins to grade them higher, as they are also the ones trying to sell the coins and scam you. Even if not cleaned by them, they will often except cleaned coins and not put that they are cleaned on the label, or they just have no idea what they are talking about. As a rule of thumb, usually stick to PCGS or NGC. ANACS can be okay, but even they tend to be off.

  5. Anything From Somebody You Don't Know
    The biggest mistake somebody can make when getting into silver investing is falling for a deal that is too good to be true. If you don't know that the person you are about to buy from is 100% trustworthy, don't take a risk. Do not be afraid to ask for references, as any reputable dealer will have them and be happy to work with you to earn your trust.

Sort:  

yup everything above is true great post

I'm so glad you liked it man!

Very informative, thanks!

No problem man, I'm very glad you found the information to be helpful!

upvoted and resteemed

Very well said. I know I could not believe hoe much premium the 1/10 oz gold coins wer. It was crazy high.

Trust me man, I know. It still is nothing compared to premiums on fractional silver though.

U get the premium back when u sell them. There's a way bigger market for fractional because more ppl can afford them. If u look at say the lunar series gold coins, alot of my 1/10s have doubled in value from what I paid. Same with proof libertads and pandas. They fair better than the oz coins imo. Plus if you need some emergency cash u can sell a couple and not have to sell the whole oz. But to each their own

This is true. I have made some of those mistakes personally. The weird art bars only good if you get them at or below spot price.

As have I man, but I've learned.

Nice information, that's why I always stuck with Silver Eagles and Canadian maples so I would have to learn all these things.

I'm glad you found the info helpful, thanks for reading!

If u can get vintage art bars locally u can sell them for upto 3 times what u paid for them on eBay. Vintage is hot.. just check the sold listings on ebay. They're more for collectors sure but collectors will pay for bars that that tickle their fancy. That's the thing with gold and silver there's two markets..ppl that stack for weight as an investment and collectors. When u sell generic common items you'll only get arounf spot if you're lucky but if it's a collectable or vintage piece u basically set your price and the profit can be alot more than a generic piece. Patience and timing is key

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80