Found An $80 Coin in Junk Silver

in #silver7 years ago (edited)

I purchased some "junk silver," which is what they call 90% silver coins from the US Mint dated 1964 and earlier. These are typically purchased solely for the silver content of the coins, but on a rare occasion, you'll get lucky. You can sometimes find coins with numismatic (collectors') value.

There were a ton of old dimes in this lot!

Here are some of the Barber dimes (they were minted the same years as Barber Quarters).IMG_3159.JPG



I found some Barber Quarters, which were minted from 1892-1916.

These aren't worth much of a premium due to the condition, but you don't find them in "junk" bags very often.
IMG_3158.JPG



Some better-condition Barbers as well as a worn Seated Liberty dime.

"Seated" coins were minted from 1837 to 1891.
IMG_3160.JPG



Now, to the gems of the bunch!




An 1888 Seated Liberty dime

This one is pretty dirty, but you can see quite a few details under the dirt that often aren't visible.
More details = better grade = higher value.
IMG_3161.JPG



A hard-to-find 1901-S Barber Dime!

This one should easily sell for $80! Not bad considering the silver value in the coin is only $1.20.IMG_3162.JPG







Follow me @shenanigator

Sort:  

Hihi, I can now give you $50 with a simple click. Quite the difference.

How does it feel to be a whale? Haha

I love these old coins. Especially when they are foreign to me.

By the way we are currently starting a gold and silver community here on steemit. Check it out if you are interested: https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@hgmsilvergold/establishment-of-steemsilvergold-the-gold-and-silver-community-on-steemit-join-here-and-now

Cool idea! I'm not an expert on it so not sure how I can contribute but will definitely follow.

You can definitely contribute. It is for everyone, authors and curators and more. Just go to the post above and follow the instructions.

Ok count me in! I'll reply to your post and resteem.

Awesome, I'd like to be a part of it. Count me in!

thanks, that will be great, especially since you are such a significant gold and silver figure here on steemit. To join, please go to the article and follow the instructions. We already have more than 20 members in less than 24 hours.

Everyone got a sample pack of Euro coins when they first introduced them. Those brand new first coins in the pack are worth a lot now, compared to the actual value. I remember my cousins saying I should not spend them but I was young and didn't care lol. Wish i listened and bought many packs.

I'm surprised those are already worth a premium considering they're not that old. But very cool nonetheless!

So I checked, the introduction pack had coins with a total value of EURO 3,88 and they are now being sold for over 15 EURO. Not a bad return on a coin in 16 years with 0% risk lol.

Haha, that's crazy!

Congrats on your finds! I've really enjoyed your series about junk silver... and what you find in there.

Makes me want to get back in the business of buying old "estate lots" of postage stamp collections-- used to do that and generally made some pretty impressive profits... this in spite of the fact that stamps have zero value "as paper," it's all collectible.

Thanks! It's not exactly the same as an estate lot, but I once bought the contents of an abandoned storage unit. I found a grenade and a bazooka in it. Thankfully, they were both decommissioned, but I didn't know that at first. It was terrifying!

Wonderful finds! Seeing those brings back so many memories of my coin collecting days!

Thanks! How cool! I didn't know that about you. I'm not much of a coin collector. I'm more of an investor, but it's always fun to find those old ones. I also have a nerdy related hobby - metal detecting.

I started collecting early (age 8 or so) and amassed quite a collection. My rarest was a U.S. 3 cent piece from the mid-1800's that, supposedly, was used as postage because it was so small and thin. I fell on hard times in my early twenties and had to sell off a lot of them but still have a few. The Morgan Silver dollars were probably my favorite design of all time. There's nothing wrong with nerdy hobbies, BTW. What's the most interesting thing you've ever found?

I really like the Morgans as well. I haven't done it a whole lot like many enthusiasts. And since moving to Arizona, I haven't had many opportunities since digging in AZ ground is near impossible with a hand shovel. This may not be the most interesting thing I've found, but it's the most interesting story.

I had just got my first metal detector around 10 years old. I took it into the backyard to find some treasure. The house was built in 1997 and the neighborhood wasn't very old, with the oldest house built in the 1970s. Obviously, I wasn't going to find anything old there in my yard.

I walk a few feet, get some dings, and dig up a modern penny. Then in a few more feet, I dig up a nail. I take a couple more steps and get a quarter reading. I dig it up and there lies a 1901 Barber Quarter. My dad had done some metal detecting in the past, so he knew that you NEVER find these things in a modern neighborhood. He starts freaking out, calling me the luckiest person alive.

I can't imagine how excited you must have been! That land was probably unsettled desert in the early 1900's or a really small town. It makes you wonder about who dropped it there. I had a few of those quarters from around the same time period.

That could be the case. It was only 5 inches down, which is pretty shallow for a 100 year old coin in Minnesota soil. We were thinking they may have brought in a truckload of dirt from an old farmstead when building the house.

This makes me want to buy a metal detector! 😉

Amazing finds, just goes to show yiu that buying the junk bags can pay off. Thanks for the share my friend. Keep stacking.

I've found a great supplier and I'll be sticking with them until it stops producing numismatics!

I also like the junk silver coins, they will be very useful in the future when the US dollar collapse.

Agreed, and they often sell for a high premium. Right now, you can get them for relatively low premiums. I like them because they are a highly recognizable form of silver. You know you're getting real silver when you buy, and when you sell, you won't have anyone questioning their authenticity.

Exactly. The same happens with silver ounces like the eagles, maple leafs or Britannias. They are recognized as silver 999, with silver rounds you can have some problems selling it.

Agree, no one bothers to "cap" silver coins like they might gold coins. And you can be pretty sure that a faded and worn junk silver coin is real.

Great score my friend, some of the coins have had some use alright. Cheers

Thanks! Following you now. Keep on stackin!

Amazing score! My collection is slowly growing. I found some cool things. Thanks for sharing. I don't have anything barber at the moment.

What kind of things have you found?

A lot of Silver Kennedy Halves, both 90%ers and 40%ers. Some Benjamin Franklins, a couple walking liberties. One of my best scores was a whole roll of silver quarters. I love the silver! I've also found a lot of wheat cents and a few Indian head cents as well! As far as Nickels go, a few Buffalos and wartime nickels.
I'm having fun with it all and making a little money at the same time!

It's always a good time sorting through them. You never know what you're gonna find. Thanks for your comments!

I buy lots of junk silver because I am a coin ring maker - and have found a few but not many special coins in the bunches I've purchased - right now the only thing I do with my crypto currency buy silver with it - I love seeing what others find in junk silver

A coin ring maker, interesting! Is there a place I can see some of your work? I think buying silver with crypto is a great move right now. I've been lucky with my junk silver finds lately.

One of the silver sites had a killer sale on last week one oz below spot - it depended how much you bought for how much of a discount you got

I have a few on my Etsy store - have to put more on - I've been so busy locally that haven't had time to keep up on the stock on the store - I don't sell many online mostly at trade shows and locally - https://www.etsy.com/shop/CoincreationsbyFrank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63131.59
ETH 2586.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78