A Surprise @ the Coin Counting Machine!

in #silver7 years ago

Earlier this week I purchased a full bag of American dimes from a credit union bank where I'm a member.

This bag came from their coin counting machine where customers exchange bulk amounts of coins in exchange for cash or to deposit.

WHY would someone do this and buy a great big bag of coins?!?

To look 👀 for pre-1965, 90% silver coins.

Silly, I know.

My attitude matches that of the Honey Badger 🙂 and if doing something makes me happy and other people don't approve, fantastic!

Those individuals separated the wheat from the chaff FOR me 👍.

I found 4(!) silver dimes! 🤗

IMG_3558.jpg

The 50+ pounds of regular dimes had to go somewhere...

This isn't 1982 and I didn't have 10,000 phone calls to make.

IMG_3524.jpg

So I took the coins to a different bank I use and put them in THEIR machine.

IMG_3522.jpg

HYPOTHESIS: I will come up a bit shy of $1000 because we removed the silver dimes, some pennies, a button, 2 small pendants, etc.

RESULT:

IMG_3527.jpg

Zoomed in:

IMG_3525.jpg

WOW!

I actually made money here too!

Final tally:

Silver and pennies found: $ 4.70
Excess from cashing in dimes: $13.81
Steemit post value(s) so far: $ 8.66

Total: $27.17 🙂

It pays to have fun!!!

Thank you readers, upvoters, and cool people in the world; this was great fun!

I'll let the bank know I'm in for another round 😉

Have a great day everyone!

@scan0017 😘

Sort:  

Yeah, truthfully people took out silver coins in the 80s & 90s and just alot filtered out due to obsolescence. The best way to find these coins is to actually use cash in poor neighborhoods and look through change there. Also, car washes for quarters.

I think it would have been wise to hold onto all the Dimes, not just the Silver Dimes... When the Banks run out of Paper and Digital Dollars, you'll be lucky to get one ordinary dime for every 10 dollars you have on deposit or turn in...

That's an interesting theory... "Federal Reserve Notes" written on paper but not the coins.
I've got about 60 pounds of pre 1982 pennies in case my heirs see a benefit from the copper value a generation from now.

It's not about the copper value in the Pocket Change I mentioned, just like it's not about the Paper value in the Fiat Currency... It's more about having a standby Medium of Exchange already in place when the Paper and Digital Fiat Currencies Collapse...

Won't paper money serve the same purpose as coins?

Paper and Digital money in the Banks are going to Crash... You might even say Collapse... Coins will become very valuable with an increased buying power of one hundred fold in my humble opinion... If you're holding onto physical cash, the Banks will probably offer you a penny for each paper dollars worth of value listed on the paper... A hundred dollar bill will probably get you a one dollar coin...

Ok, I hear you.
How do you figure that coins will have a greater value than paper dollars?

Paper dollars as you call them are in fact Federal Reserve "Debt" Notes... Each one represents Debt... Naturally, interest has to be paid on most types of Debt... Interest is being paid on every Paper Dollar... I figure that Common Coinage is Debt free , other than the cost of Minting them... When the Paper and Digital Fiat Dollars Crash, the only Medium of Exchange worth anything will be Common "Debt Free" Coinage or as I like to call it, Pocket Change...

A very unique and interesting theory.
I do not agree with your theory because of what the currency, whether paper or coinage, represents.
Both paper and coins cannot be fraudulently manufactured (punishable by felony charge). Thus both have value from similar scarcity relative to their designated value.
IF the population recognized that value as a medium of exchange (regardless of what collapse occurs) then both existing coins and paper would continue to carry value according to their designation.
HOWEVER: In a hyperinflation scenario, I suppose coins could become the 'new' paper when 100 trillion dollar notes are printed and citizens conducting market exchanges between themselves abandon notes and everyone agrees that coins are the new medium of exchange that is mutually agreed upon...
If you can point out any similar episodes in history that reflect this scenario you ought to consider writing a post about it as evidentiary support for your fascinating theory.

Lol, it does pay to have fun! Funny that the bank gave you extra dimes.

Right?
Of course I would be honest and return the extra if I knew where it should go!

  • Were there too many dimes in the bag?
  • Was the counting machine off?
  • Were there coins stuck in the counting machine chute that my massive deluge of dimes broke free?
    We'll never know.
    I assumed the count would be perfect; who has EVER tested this hypothesis?

Good times learning new stuff 😊

Lol, never knew these were a hypothesis to test. Good times indeed! 😄

Oh, absolutely!

  1. Are there any silver coins in circulation? Guessing no, found out there are! 1/2500 dimes out there by my anecdotal average.
  2. Did I REALLY get 10,000 dimes in that bag? Guessing yes, found out possibly more!
    Learning stuff is neat 🙂

Have a great weekend brother 🤝

Haha, I love it.

Same to you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65897.19
ETH 2706.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88