Coinstar Machine Leaks Silver - One Page Punch

in #silver7 years ago

Coinmachine.JPG

I had a windfall not to long ago at one of these machines (check pic below). I walked by, and looked in the coin return as I normally do, and found it full of coins…mostly SILVER COINS! It took three handfuls to scoop out all the change. Once calculated, it came out to about 3.29 silver oz. I took everything to a coin dealer and got $111.00 for the lot. So whenever you walk by one of these machines, check the coin return, you might find a nice surprise.

change.JPG

Many times, I find a lone silver dime or silver quarter sitting there and that’s a big treat as well. Sometimes, people just leave the coins they don’t understand on top. I had found twenty coins just resting on the little ledge, one being a 2004 German coin made of Sterling silver with etched writing on the rim the size of a half dollar. I kept that one.

Where do these coins come from? People try to change their change into cash and the machine does not register the weight of foreign or silver coins so it dumps them. The unsuspecting user does not check the coin return or does not care, and then you come walking along. Sometimes, it’s just junk, euro coins or tin coins from some faraway country. It’s cool to see but I just toss those out.

If you’ve had some treasure hunting experience with these machines, please post below, we would love to hear what you've found.

This has been your One Page Punch!

Share, Comment, Follow and Upvote!!!

Sort:  

Wow. That's a great haul. I almost always find a silver dime or two when I use these machines. Can't believe users don't check before walking away.

That's awesome, thanks for sharing.

Keep hunting, all those dimes add up.

Dang that's awesome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64742.19
ETH 3169.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55