Introduction - Hi I am a passionate (Antique) silver collector

in #silver7 years ago (edited)

Hello everybody,
may I introduce myself. My name is Mike and I live in Munich. Was born 1975, have 3 kids and am married.
My passion is collecting silver antiques. The word antiques sounds frumpy, I rather would use the words like "Design" or "collectable objects". You probably have no idea about this theme, as 99,9% of the people out there...and thats really a pitty.

At the moment Silver pieces can be bought very cheap. So cheap you often only pay the scrap price or little over.
I think collecting Silver is not only fun and exciting, you can learn alot about history and you also can build up a collection of value, if done correctly.

I will upload posts on the following themes:

What you can buy and what you have to look out for. Which pieces are desirable, which pieces not. I also will post some Rekommandations (with max. price to be paid) of pieces which I find interesting to buy. Links to over interesting related themes.

I like the following. Silver objects from the 1880 to 1940. My speciality or my favourite pieces are objects from 1923 (Hyperinflation in Germany) to the Stockmarket Crash 1929 in N.Y. In this time the best designs and pieces were made = Roaring twenties or ART Deco. Why this period? By the end of the 19th century, Art Nouveau followed organically inspired works and acted to make Historicism look outdated. After WW1 the Art Deco style changed from the organic Art Nouveau to the modernism which we know today. So Art Deco was the change from the old antique style to the modernism.

Here on this table you can see some objects. Through the hallmarks each piece can be identified with the maker, origin and year. Sometimes you also can identify the designer.

All the best

regards

Mike

Sort:  

Congratulations @mrde, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58527.16
ETH 2486.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41