Funny thing happened on a trip to the coin shop.

in #silver6 years ago (edited)

I had the day off and a little money to spend so I thought to myself, "Why not go take a look at that coin shop across town that you've never really been in before." It's actually in a different city just across the river from me, so off I went to hunt new treasures. When I arrived I soon found that the actual hours listed and todays hours some how differed, they were closed. I decided to walk down the street to a junk/thrift store I had seen before. They were open and had a small coin section. I picked out a cheaper Morgan Dollar, a fine deal for $20.

IMG_1614 (1).JPG

I know nothing special but it is my first one. I went through a few of his bins of old nickels and pennies and didn't really find anything I wanted. Then I spotted a giant bag full of coins marked 39.99. I picked it up, saw mostly international junk coins and almost set it down. I luckily noticed 1 Canadian silver coin in a case and a silver quarter so said what the hell. I talked him down to $20 and brought it home.

IMG_1624 (1).JPG

Mostly junk but I did pull out 13 painted state quarters (should be good for $10 on ebay) also a lot of 40's European coins. Then I pulled out the silver quarter and 4 old Canadian large cents from the 1800's.

IMG_1619 (1).JPG

But what really made this worth it was the Canadian silver dollar I found next. I didn't see them before bought the bag but I am glad I found them.

IMG_1620 (1).JPG

IMG_1621.JPG

IMG_1623 (1).JPG

Yup, a commemorative Canada/Russia Hockey Dollar with the case, also a 1988 50% silver Edmonton Collegiate Games dollar. Other coins that were in the bag were 30 wheatback pennies, 36 1960 uncirculated centavos. A lot of tokens and US mint plated coin replicas. I think I made my money back easily and it was fun searching the bag for treasures. Have to say it was a day well spent.

Sort:  

By the way a cheap Morgan where I am is 35.00

I would call that a good day! I love finds like that. Probably a way better find than the coin shop as far as price goes anyways. Cool story. Isn't it great that an everyday adventure can create a cool blog!

Yeah was a great find and a day well spent.

That was good luck!

Thank you I think so too.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

very cool good job gettin the bag for $20 instead of 40 that made it worth it :)

Yeah that really did.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63521.22
ETH 3319.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91