The Old Dog Discusses: Physical Contact in a Virtual World, a Vlog!

in #silver7 years ago (edited)

I'm bursting with excitement! Today Steemit went from a virtual reality to a physical one!

How Did Steemit Change For me Today?

A little over a week week ago @papa-pepper contacted me with the news that I was among a group of Steemers that he wanted to send a Steemit Silver Round to. You can read about his community building project here!  I picked up the parcel at the post office today and it really has me feeling like part of a world wide community. 

Thanks a lot @papa-pepper you're awesome. The silver round is beautiful and a great keep sake. I love the t shirt both for the message and because I've seen videos of you making them yourself! You've been great for Steemit and Steemit has been great to you!

Would You Like to See me Opening The Parcel?

What Has Your Experience Been?

I've seen many posts by @papa-pepper where he has both sent and received parcels from other members of the community. 

  • Have you received anything by mail from a fellow Steemer?
  • Have you ever sent mail to a fellow Steemer?
  • Do you see mailing things as a good community builder?


I hope that you enjoyed this article about "Physical Contact in a Virtual World, a Vlog!"



Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

 

Sort:  

OH YES!!!!! I am so glad that it made it to you my friend! I love taking things offline and physically blessing others! I'll keep you posted on my end!

Now this is mind blowing.... I never steemit could get this good.
Its a nice thing to see such great love turning a vitural world into a more physical world.
Congratulations to @Kus-knee and thumbs up to @papa-pepper for the parcel.
I hope we all learn from this.
I will be expecting mine soon.

Surely someone will send you something! Maybe even a gold round! :)

wow.. I really can't wait for the day such love will find me.
Who knows it may even be coming from you @kus-knee the Old Dog.

Cool, this is actually the idea we have in mind to be able to support our friends-artisans from Latin America by sending their beautiful creations to Steemians in exchange of donations. It's great to see that this is already becoming reality :-) saluti da Diana - Lou's wife and @steemitri 's translator/host ;-)

That great! I like your way of thinking and you have been so kind to @steemitri!

Nice hat Old Dog!
Great gifts... I think there will be a whole economy based on blockchain, be it Steem or another one. Steemit is a great example!
Vedremo come cambieranno le cose ;-)
ciao ciao

Hai ragione @steemitri. Vediamo dove siamo tra un anno!

"Don't post for free". 👍
Nice t-shirt.

Yes It is. He did a nice job painting it because there are lighter and darker areas of green and the shading is well done!

I think it's a beautiful idea to make Steemit "physical" by sending each other things... and I believe it could easily become the prototype for an entire Steemit peer-to-peer marketplace... art, handicrafts, goods and services, all bypassing the whole "manufacturer-to-middleman-to-store" thing, and funded with Steem.

I had considered the idea of creating a "Postcard Exchange" on Steemit where members could send each other postcards from all corners of the world... the main issue is to have a safe-- but convenient and easy-- way to exchange addresses.

Lots of other things we could do, too.

Cool hat and shades, by the way!

Thanks for your great ideas. This has been a lot of fun and I sure hope that @papa-pepper gets the package that I sent him. We exchanged addresses in Steemit.chat and his is a p.o. Box so he's set up nicely.

Wow that is really really super exciting. I have never received these types of parcels from fellow steemians but in the near future we will be using these types of sent and received parcel very often.

It's a great idea and if my gift to @papa-pepper arrives I'd like to send more gifts!

Wow friend, very sweet and precious gift you have received from the great steemians of the world. Yes we should not post for free. Thanks for sharing such a beautiful movements with us. Thanks, wish you a very beautiful time ahead my friend.

Thanks so much!

Most welcome my friend, I thought that the old dog was very old, but you are so good and handsome friend, so why did you mention you as old dog. Any way thanks for coming to my post. Wish you a very beautiful time ahead.

Well I'm almost 60 but I guess if someone is 70 I seem young! :)

You are joking, I think you are below 55.It is very good for you, do you take regular exercise?

Most welcome my friend, I thought that the old dog was very old, but you are so good and handsome friend, so why did you mention you as old dog. Any way thanks for coming to my post. Wish you a very beautiful time ahead.

So cool Old Dog! The t-shirt is great, and the silver Steemit coin, wow, what a cool idea.

Exciting times, things will no doubt get really interesting in the not too distant future :-)

Yes I was really surprised when he informed me of the fact that he'd be sending me this gift. I was really honoured and touched!

So this doubles as a review of postal speed ;)

True. I sent my parcel to him first and he still doesn't have it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60836.17
ETH 2567.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57