SILVER: The Natural Sleep Aid!

in #silver7 years ago (edited)

Last night night I had a little exchange with @boomerangbread (I will link his video at the bottom) where he addressed "Old REAL money vs New REAL money." I think he is on to some really great points and like many other Steemitists I'm connecting with daily, he is awakening to the significance that precious have had historically. As always, I assert that only with the understanding of what SOUND MONEY is and its historicity, can we understand that gold and silver are only sitting on the side lines for the moment as an undervalued commodity. They WILL be back as money and I will do my best to explain why I believe this to be the case!

silverswan.png

With Cryptos launching skyward and everyone bum-rushing the scene with the goal of locking in their profits, it really is an exciting time! However, I think that a lot of folks who are getting into this, the young people, have not (yet) made the personal discovery about what money actually is. We often become confused between the concept of "money" and "currency." They are virtually the same except for one KEY function that money has and currency (including crypto) does not.

What distinguishes money is that it is a store of value for a LONG period of time. Gold and Silver are Natural money because since people first discovered it and began using it in trade, everyone inherently recognized it for having this property. They didn't have to be convinced of its value and rarity. It was tangible and clear as day that you if you have these shiny and rare metals, you have something that anyone would trade their products for. It became a universal medium of exchange and it was honest because the supply could not be manipulated until civilizations began to debase their gold and silver coins with base metals, but that is a story left for another time.

I believe that if the world still functioned with a monetary gold standard (or ideally a bimetallic standard) cryptos would not have the adoption levels and upward growth that they have in this reality. From my understanding, cryptos are a response to the fiat system we live in and were created to be scarce and finite just like the Noble Metals. This is HUGE step up from the using a currency that an institution like the Federal reserve has the ability to create from nothing, breath "value" into and proceed to inflate into oblivion. Cryptos, like G&S are FINITE and the supply can not be increased, however it can be argued that they are just a game of confidence and are not a true store of value like G&S are naturally. In other words, the value of G&S does not change much in history (however the price might,) and it stays at a near constant, but cryptos "value" fluctuates vastly and depends on peoples confidence in order for them to have any meaning at all.

Now i'm not bashing on cryptos and there may be many elements that I am not aware of, but I'll tell you this. The more precious metals I sit on, I just sleep better at night. I have never regretted and will never regret the purchase of a silver coin, round or bar, unlike STEEM, Bitcoin or Etherium, where that remains to be seen. I can count that my silver, a tangible and REAL money in my possession, will hold its value as it has for millennia. Cryptos on the hand are major gamble, with possible of high reward and I'll play a little bit. However, it might be a good move to at least consider hedging your bets by holding something of tangible, intrinsic and timeless value in your possession. It's time to diversify if you haven't begun to already! You don't have to lose your shirt if the system goes belly up!

Stay prosperous, motivated, making smart decisions and KEEP STACKING!
~Hratch

If you enjoy my work and get value from it, please consider following @jangaladesigns, upvoting and resteeming! Mucho Gracias!

This is @boomerangbread 's video! Follow him here on steemit and WATCH!

Sort:  

Great article! Upvoted and resteemed

Very nice my friend! Real ASS money!

I think holding 2-3% of your networth in precious metals, and 2-3% in crypto is a pretty smart way of doing it.

Hey man! Thanks for commenting! Yes that is a wise move! I personally hold a much higher percentage, but anything is better than nada!

yeah keep staking until you hear V12 roarin in your dreams

Well said my friend, full upvote and resteemed. Very well put together. Keep stacking untill the end.

This is a good read and agree with you. I believe a diverse portfolio of investment is the best way to go. It reminds me of my family post world war 2. money was worthless and my grandparents traded gold and gems in the black market to survive.

Fascinating! Thanks for sharing that bit of info! I think you meant that "currency" was worthless. The gold and gems proved to be the Real money in that situation! :)

Thank you Ray! I always appreciate your feed back my friend!

You won't get any arguments out of me. Good stuff

Don't you just love our little echo chamber of ideas? hahaha ;)

It's great to have so many like minded people bouncing ideas off each other. Go steemit

When cryptos and the Internet have been around for 8000 years, I'll up my portfolio percentage for them to 5% - meanwhile, I'll keep overweight in silver.

I hope you are able to live that ripe old age brother! lol I think you have a good strategy though! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61238.36
ETH 3278.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46