Gold vs Silver

in #silver6 years ago

There are many known uses for Silver. Gold is coveted mostly for jewelry. I just watched several videos about the gold / Silver ratio. Today’s ratio is over 80 to 1. This means 80 ounces of silver will buy one ounce of gold. a1drjohnthumb.JPG

Mining the earth for metal produces 1 ounce of gold for ten ounces of silver. You might expect prices to be 10 to 1 rather than 80 to 1.

If you consider the amount of silver consumed in industry, the price ratio is even more absurd. Silver is significantly more valuable than gold.

My personal opinion is... I expect to see the gold to silver ratio to invert in my lifetime. This is not very long. The question will be how many ounces of gold will it take to buy an ounce of silver.

Before this inversion can occur silver prices must be allowed to be free of banks paper derivatives. Banks and governments manage the price of silver to support their fiat based currencies.

Why is this on my mind today?

I recently purchased a little solar powered bird bath fountain. This requires a very tiny amount of silver within it. There is no gold required. There is also no extra energy required. Solar power will place ever increasing demands on silver resources.

Technological advances will require more silver. This may be considered fact, but today it is my opinion. Likewise, I expect drastic changes in banking systems.

Here is today’s beauty.

A60E0D83-2E0C-47C4-9AE1-ECEEDDF75239.jpeg

Sort:  

Interesting to know this, I really had no idea of ​​this relationship between silver and gold, thanks for the info

Thanks for sharing your opinion ♡

That's one of the problems I have with banks/governments, they make laws that favor them forgetting the long term effects.
It has cross my mind once that why would be gold more costly than silver not knowing that silver price is determined by the banks/government.
Thank you for the insight sir.

If gold silver ratio inverted I think gold could be used instead of silver in the manufacturing of most of the items silver is currently used for.

Silver is a superior conductor of electricity. I believe this is why the price is held down.

I'll be looking forward to seeing a significant increase in the ratio in favor of silver. Meanwhile, I had no much knowledge about this before now. Thank you for drawing my attention to this, I find this quite informative.

This life is so funny,who knows the silver could be so hike and useful than gold. No one knows tomorrow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56881.12
ETH 2338.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38