#66 - 1967 Circulated Canadian Coin SetsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #silver7 years ago (edited)

It is one of the most interesting of all coin sets I own and was ever made. It has some meaning behind it as well as it was the last year that Canada used any silver in its circulated coins.

IMG_8244.JPG

IMG_8245.JPG

IMG_8246.JPG

Specs

The Penny - "Dove" - 100% Copper
The Nickel - "Rabbit" - 100% Nickel
The Dime - "Mackerel" - 80% Silver
The Quarter - "Wildcat" - 80% Silver
The Half - "Wolf" - 80% Silver
The Dollar - "Goose" - 80% Silver

I would love to get feed back on this post. Tell me what you like or what you don't like. Thanks

Thanks for your support and comments.

@digestingreality IMG_8063.PNG

Sort:  

Great set DR, I never really got into coin sets. I do have alot of silver coinage, but no proof sets. I wish when I had started that I would have looked into sets. Nice collection though.
Keep stacking my friend, keep the silver post's coming.

Thanks for your comments and I have plenty more silver posts coming your way my friend! Stack To The Ceiling or STTC! Lol

I forgot to mention the sets. Sometimes sets are good but sometimes they are over valued and you pay a high premium for them. Too high actually. So the best investment is Bullion I think. But I love my sets!

I inherited 2 sets, one from my Dad and one my Uncle. I don't think I still have them. I might have kept them if I'd know about the silver. I still have my Grandma's goods.

Well thanks for the reply. I hope you find those coins as the last time I checked a complete set was going for $60-200.00 Canadian. Thanks for the comment.

Fuck, I knew it.

After a family garage sale about 15 or 20 years ago I threw in every weird token, foreign coin, ancient or new crisp bill, sentimental trinket, or otherwise I had into my parents small treasure chest of sorts, including the 2 sets of my Dads and Uncle's, from when they were kids. I moved to New York, downsized, and left the treasure chest with my brother at his house with ample space. While no one ever actually verbally articulated the concept that this family treasure chest was to be saved and handed down from generation to generation, he and his wife decided they's sell it all without telling any of the rest of us. Mom was pissed too. And he didn't even offer a share when busted. Needless to say, most of it was sentimental junk and they took what they could get, which at the time was far less than it was worth, because I knew some of it was good. Now I know they totally got taken. There were other cool things in there like crisp new 1, 2, and 5 dollar bills of older variations including much younger doable Queens on them. I know I had a few 1910's large pennies and I think some from 1800s.

My brother's a dick. He's a principle for a private school in the US teaching propaganda to minds almost as feeble as his.

Sorry to hear that man. But people like that get their own eventually! That being said anyone that works in the school system is either a "Sell Out" or a "Dick"! Thanks for the comment. We may have to hatch an idea to retrieve the treasure chest! Lol. And yes the queen was pretty hot in her day!!

Yes indeed. However one always has to be careful what they wish for! Lol

A great novelty. I used to know someone preparing for the end times, who has a mountain of silver coins. Hopefully I am not a fool for going as deep as I have into fiat and digital currency. Thank you for sharing your coins!

Thank you for your comment. I am not too sure which way is the best way to go but I am sure about one thing. Diversity is more than likely the answer when it comes to investments. A person should a some of everything that way if something comes crashing down you won't get hit too hard. I have added you to my Following. Thanks

Cool coin set with a lot of silver in it. 👍

Yes they are and thanks for the comment. Do you have any Canadian Silver?

Yes I have but I have to dig them out from my collection somewhere haha.

Oh ok that's awesome to here. I love those coins. And they are great conversation pieces.

Back in the 40's we had what are called War Nickels... Those War Nickels had 35% Silver that replaced the 25% Nickel... Our Nickels did go back to using 25% Nickel and they've remained that way ever since... Are you able to still get 100% Nickels from your Banks and if so, what are the Costs...???
@pocketechange

Yes you can still get 100% nickels here in bank rolls but the new coins are just coponickel.

I had a feeling Nickel may become valuable again...
@pocketechange

Sorry for the late response. Well Nickel has lots of value when it comes to the war machine that's forsure!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 30. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $14.53 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 30 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67421.82
ETH 2623.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68