#22 - How To Detect Real SilversteemCreated with Sketch.

in #silver7 years ago

There is many ways to detect real Silver over the Fake crap that's out there. Below find a list of ways to spot it. Please be aware there are other ways but these ways have helped me out and seem to be the quickest way without damaging the coin. Enjoy

#1 - Weight - This is usually the quickest and easiest way to separate the GOOD FROM THE BAD.

IMG_7887.JPG

#2 - Sight - If it doesn't look right more than likely it is not. Trust yourself and learn the GOOD FROM THE BAD!

IMG_7886.JPG

IMG_7885.JPG

IMG_7884.JPG

#3 - Rare Earth Magnet - Silver is unique in that it has some magnetism to it so when you slide a magnet over the coin at a 45° angle there will be some resistance and the magnet will travel slower over real silver than fake silver. This can be made even easier with a silver slide and they are easy to make.

IMG_7882.JPG

#4 - Specific Gravity Test - This way is a bit more time consuming but when done correctly you are petty much guaranteed to spot the GOOD FROM THE BAD! Please follow the link provided for more information on this method. He does a great job explaining it on the video and gives a list in the video comment box.

IMG_7883.JPG

I want to thank everyone that has followed me and upvoted for me on Steemit. DR

Sort:  

I made a simple rig for checking magnetics:
magnet.JPG
It's just a strong little earth magnet pendulum. Over silver it stops swinging.
Also look for this fake Maple Leaf:
fake leaf.jpeg
The simplest difference is to see how flat the leaf is behind the veins.

Could you send me more pics of that tool please I would like to make one myself. Thanks

Sure. There is not much to it really. A board with a hole in it, two pieces of coat hanger, and a small but strong magnet like from the foot of this fingerboard toy. parts.JPG
By bending the wire I can set the height to about one mm above the bar or coin.
onemm.JPG
The magnet swings freely unless silver is under it, in which case it stops like its in thick oil.
swing.JPG
It's worth mentioning that a few metals have this diamagnetic property, but silver is much stronger in this effect (I can't even see the effect in faked silver coins). It's also a nicer magnet test if you're worried about scratching rare coins on that magnet slide.

Thanks for posting instructions on making that silver testing unit. DR

Hey really great post. Excellent info. I have a fair number of leafs and never really checked them other than with my silver slide. I upvoted and added you to my list of "following". Thanks

Any suggestions on a good, inexpensive scale? Great article, very important info to have.

Yes actually I do have a great scale I purchased from Amazon about a year ago for $20.00. I will attached the link to Amazon for the one I purchased. It works great and holds it calibration. Thanks for your comment and I hope this helps.

@digestingreality

Smart Weigh Digital Pro Pocket Scale with Back-Lit LCD Display, Tare, Hold and PCS Features 2000 x 0.1-Gram Capacity, 2 Lids Included https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B00IZ1YHZK/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_WElizbCBBHHQP

Thanks! That's exactly what I need. Ordering it now.

Perfect, let me know how it works for you I have been very happy with mine.

Don't forget the ice test. All you need is a coin or bar you know IS silver compare to the item in question. For reason of conductivity ice melts decidedly faster on silver.

Yes you are absolutely correct on that, thanks. I have added you to my "Following". Thanks for making a comment and sending me the video.

Great post.
One question though...If you purchase silver via an online trader (and lets say they are well trusted) what happens if you find fake coins? surely we wouldn't have a leg to stand on? (I'm sure that could also apply to a store if they hand something over the counter).

Great question. I purchased a coin of Kijiji about a year ago and after receiving it I felt that it wasn't real silver. I ran a few tests and results were mixed. I contacted the seller and he returned my money and paid for the shipping of the coin back to him.
It is a low margin of profit for these dealers and if someone gets ripped off or feels like they got ripped off by a certain dealer it spells doom for that dealer. So I can not speak for everyone's experience but in my experience if they are reputable dealer they will always take it back and refund the money. Hope this helps. Thanks for the question.

Good article, people will need this info as silver price goes up. I did not know about the ice test. Thanks.

Thanks. I have heard that about 4% of all coins and bars sold are fakes. I can't remember where I read that so when your paying good money for something you need to know what your buying. DR

Did you ever find fake silver from big websites like apmex, jm, and provident

Hi I just sent a message to you regarding finding fake silver and was wondering if you received it? As it is not showing in my comment section. I am new to Steemit and this is the first time this has happened. DR

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60239.77
ETH 2896.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45