You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Silver Stacking Goal

in #silver7 years ago

You're right it's just not doable with employed jobs.

I think a long the same lines re silver.

Trouble is that in the UK the government is very much anti silver & gold. To buy silver we have to pay VAT on it which equates to an extra 20% on top of the price. Also only UK government minted coins are exempt from capital gains tax. It therefore restricts what I can buy (I'd love to buy bars but not worth it from a tax saving perspective)

Sort:  

That is awful that daszecher (VAT) - how backward is the West? Asian nations are encouraging citizens to buy and hoard gold and silver whilst the west want to make it too expensive to possess. This would be part of the reason for the massive wealth shift from West to East. SK.

I never thought about that! You're completely right. What a perfect way to discourage people from buying precious metals!!!
I bet they change the rules on capital gains tax too when the time comes for the price of silver to go higher!!!

You bet they will, only by then it will be too late. The latest talk is a move to an International Monetary Fund (IMF) Special Drawing Right (SDR). The IMF has heaps of gold, and they are jumping into bed with China and Russia who also have plenty of gold - so we might see a gold backed SDR. If your not holding gold (silver will follow) before this... you won't be. SK

Interesting!
I do hold a small amount but think that silver has more upside. However, I'd sell mining shares before I'd even consider selling the physical stuff!!!

I know is sucks buying silver in UK huh? I can imagine it, its like buys spot price 1.5x...atleast we're investing in something tryna get out of the fiat currency.

True.
Maybe I should buy some silver from the states, see if I can sneak it in!!

I don't think you'll get in trouble for and there's no reason u should get busted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63626.54
ETH 2727.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56