Buying a 1,000 oz SILVER BAR - My Story

in #silver7 years ago

I first got into precious metals around 2003. After I got slammed in the stock market I thought it best that I invest in real tangible physical metals. Each year I bought more and more bullion. In 2010 I decided to purchase a JM 1,000 oz Silver Bar. I saw that I could save about $200 by buying the BIG bar over 10 100 oz bars. So, when my package came it was taped up in a Green Monster Box (silver eagle container). It took me awhile to lift the thing (weighed about 74 pounds). I kept it for about 1 year and then decided to sell when the prices of the metals went way up. I think I bought it around $18 an oz and sold around $31 per oz. I ended up having to drive it to the bullion dealer (Apmex). Right then I decided never to purchase a 1,000 bar again. The savings on the purchase really didn't help, because when you sell a bar that big then you get less for it as well.
silverbarbig.jpg

I myself like the 100 oz'ers. They are pretty portable and easy to sell to anyone around. Also, they are hard to loose. I know many of you will say coins are better, and they do have their benefits.

So, when I did bring the 1,000 oz bar to the Apmex location in Oklahoma City, I was met by a guard and an Apmex attendant. Pretty fun day. However, as I said before, I will never buy a 1,000 oz bar again. What was I thinking. So if any of you get the urge to purchase one of those huge bricks, you better think twice. Have a great day all. buy.jpg

Sort:  

That's a nice bar! I prefer the 1 or two ounce coins because I think they'll be easier to liquidate after the manipulation ends and silver sky rockets in price.

very good point

Good advise,I like the 10 oz bars also.I like all of it!

i like the 10 oz as well. thanks for the reply

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jun 22. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $38.09 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 22 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Awesome. Thanks for the heads up.

Spiderman Coins are now out and they are the FIRST in a new series of Marvel Characters. Mintage is 50,000 and it should be a Big Winner among Silver Stackers as well as Marvel Comics Fans. Throw in a Few DISNEY Fans and you know this will have quite a following !!!

I'm still partial to 10oz. bars. Great refiners and the various engravings make for better selling points. Not for sale, however.

this is one of the coolest bars ever!

Cool story, thanks for sharing. Maybe this will deter me from going to big. 10oz bar is my biggest right now.

10 oz bars are really great. i should have talked about them. good choice

Love the big bars but yes they are a pain when you go to sell them back!

That's a funny story and one I'm unlikely to be able to tell; one because I don't have the money and two I don't live in the USofA. lol. I like the two ounce coins myself, nice size and weight and you can get some good premiums; my last tube of 2oz Perth Mint Lunar Monkeys are doing well. wink wink.

those are really cool coins. i have never had a 2 oz c

Hiya Crowe - to be honest they are a lovely size and weight, any 2oz coin. these Monkeys around the time had a slight premium, now on Ebay there is a 50% premium IF you can find them. The price shot up earlier this year as soon as the mintage was announced.

Hello crowe! Nice post, do you believe silver will go up more this year?

Yes I do. At what price I do not know, but silver in my guess should be over $20. However with manipulation rampant its anyone's guess

LOL, 1000oz bar... I love it!!!

It was ridiculous. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67677.71
ETH 3825.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65