Sigils for Hekate and Artemis

in #sigils6 years ago (edited)

I'm going to start making vector images of sigils, and I wanted to begin with a couple classic goddesses, Artemis, the Greek Goddess of the Hunt, and Hekate, the ancient mysterious Triple Goddess of the Witches. A friend of mine wanted me to do the Artemis sigil for some engraving on air soft and paintball gun barrels and tanks. He also plans to make pens, ceremonial items, and other fun stuff out of metal. Maybe one day he'll make a Steemit and I can pimp his craft.

But for now, he's some minimal-ish graphic design sigils.

As you can probably see, both feature moons pretty prominently. As the Gods are more often associated with the Sun, the Goddesses are tied closely to the moon. These goddesses, especially "Triple Goddesses" which feature the common archetypal symbol of the three phase moon, are metaphors for human life, specifically of the life of a woman from being a young girl, gaining responsibilities, and growing old; the maiden, the mother, and the crone. I chose this motif for Hekate because she is often depicted with it. Another symbol of hers is the three way crossroads, marked by the six-spoke "wheel" in the center of the moon.

As for Artemis, my friend articulated what he wanted it to look like, and I brought that design to life. The moon, and the Bow & Arrow, are both symbols of the Huntress Artemis. I tried to keep that one as tightly tied to geometric minimalism as possible.


Hekate.png

HEKATE

Artemis-Sigil.png

ARTEMIS

Sort:  

Very nice! I wish I were that creative. I particularly like the one for Hekate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29