Siteseeing places in and near Tokyo, Japan that Steemiters might be interested in knowing about

in #sightseeing5 years ago

I've lived in the state of Tokyo for a long time, and its mostly a great place to live. A strange thing about Tokyo is that many people think that its a city, but its actually a state and there is no city called Tokyo. The part of the state of Tokyo, that is the “city” part of it is called the “23 wards of Tokyo”. This is the only situation like this in Japan. The second biggest city in Japan is Osaka and there is an Osaka city located in the state of Osaka.

Although there are lots of nice places in and around Tokyo, lately most of them are jammed packed with tourist from other countries, especially South Korea and China. One of the places is Mt. Fuji. It used to be free to visit, but now there is a fairly expensive 7000 yen (about $70 US dollars) per person, to enter the area, to help decrease the visitors a bit. That is really expensive if you have a large family.


Pixabay Free To Use License

Very near my house in western Tokyo we have a very nice park with a pond and a river running by it. Its called Kanayama park. It is especially beautiful in the autumn, with autumn leaves and during the spring, with lots of cherry blossom trees running along the river and in the park as well.

Tried to send a picture here from my iphone se, but I lost 3 hours trying to do so. Some important parts seem to have disappeared from my iphone settings that don't allow me to send pictures. I found the pictures on a local website, but wasn't sure if they could be used freely. I hope to figure this out soon, but for now there is no picture of this, very nice park.

I wanted to send a longer message, but now it is time for bed, so I will just send this short one. The Mt. Fuji picture alone is pretty good on its own I think. I used to have a view of that every morning and evening, when the sky was clear, but tall buildings took that view away.

Hope to give a more detailed post on this matter in the near future. The main two points of this post are that so many new visitors are coming to Japan from abroad and filling us everything and that sometimes just the local, less known, sites can be enough to enjoy in peace and without massive over crouding. The point about Tokyo not actually being a city may also be of interest to some people as well. It is to me at least and I often debate and discuss the matter with various Japanese students and friends as well.

Thomas

Sort:  

Congratulations @bossofmylife! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks a lot for letting me know and for giving me an upvote.

Hello Thomas, Nice to learn Some things about Japan, its so different from my Home country The Netherlands

Thanks @brittandjosie. I hope to be able to visit the Netherlands, and other places in Europe, someday.

Well you are very Welcome the netherlands are lovely

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43