Being sick as an adult is no fun...

in #sick7 years ago


(credit: https://www.pixabay.com)

Hi Steemians,

When I was little being sick was almost as terrible as now, but it had it's benefits. I didn't have to fulfill various responsibilities or expectations, parents would fuss over me in a good way, and I get to stay home and not go to school. Having fever and flu symtoms are never fun nor is being in bed most of the day. However, I enjoyed it a bit. Perhaps, the worst thing about it was not being able to taste food. It was sort of like taking a vacation from life and school work for a little while until I got better.

Now that I'm an adult I don't have any benefit to being sick. I have responsibilities and expectations to fulfill and people are not as caring about me as when I was little. In fact, being sick is a real inconvenience. I been sick for the last couple of weeks and it's been nothing but trouble. I still have to pay bills, I still have to study, and I still have to try to work. Since becoming an adult I never found a bright side to being sick.

What about you guys? ^^

Sort:  

I think the hardest part about being sick is how much rest you need to get better. Life really doesn't stop or is patient enough to wait for you. Indeed we have many responsibilities now and expectations. We have to be determined to fulfill some of them while taking time to rest often and pace ourselves. Which is very hard to do.

Another is being sick and not having the company and comfort of others. When we're sick we may feel too prideful... Rather not be seen weak and venerable. It is nice to have company that persists to be by your side when you need it most. Same goes for family. There is also a sense of accomplishment about completing all of your duties while recovering. It is satisfying to make it to the weekend after a long week of being sick and faceplant into the bed.

Hope you feel better @omnithumbs, take vitamins and have lots of soup. Hope this bug passes quickly

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63966.12
ETH 2753.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66