Syncing The Sia Wallet To the Network?

in #siacoin7 years ago (edited)

Still learning 'along the way' here. Like so many 'new investors' in the crypto-space, I've found myself trying to 'figure it out on the fly'. I am 'assuming' here that I'm doing all of this right! But we'll see.

I picked up some Siacoin last night. Transferred it to my Sia Wallet. But .... my wallet still has not synced to the network. I'm not complaining, because I don't understand if this is normal or not. If it's not normal I'd love to complain. :) - however, I still understand that, so many of these coins & the technology around them are still indeed, buggy, and not by any means, perfected. But when you're expecting money to show up and it doesn't, you cannot help but wonder.

That's sorta where it digressed from, for me.

I looked around, found a few videos about the Sia Wallet but there doesn't seem to be 'very much detail', in plain English. Still early adoption language - and still, I'm good with that.

The learning curve is frustrating af though. The road 'could' be smoother; but ok you're all right - it's early still.

This is how my wallet looked a couple of days ago; a couple days later I'm at around 87.4% ....

sia-wallet-sync.png

Hoping that when everything syncs up the 'balance' will update to show what the 'sia-explorer' shows. But like I said there are literally no, written in plain English tutorials out there to let us all know what this 'experience' may be like. Currently, my assumption is 'possibly' being confirmed by apending 'sync' for my Stealthcoin Wallet.

I bought some of that, this morning on Bittrex and sent that, to my wallet which also, never finished syncing.

I just came to realize that you have to leave these 'clients' running .... but if you leave the computer, and it goes 'idle', seemingly they stop syncing to the networks.

So I mean, that's cool, but it would have been nice for someone to have explained that some where before hand :) ....

Something cool and unexpected however. Looks like someone 'sent me some $xst :: which again, none of it is showing in the wallet 'yet'. However it's on the blockchain. Just waiting for these wallets to sync, to see what happens then.

Is anyone else, new to this like me, and syncing the sia wallet to the network?

Are you also semi-frustrated with the lack of 'plain english' to at least, comfort you with the process? .... like I am, kinda ...

Let me know in the comments!

============= Update ===================
So this was always the plan; go 'through it live' - and document it because someone else will be looking up "Does the siacoin wallet take this long to sync?" .... and they will be happy to know, like I am happy to report in this update, that yes ......... the wallet takes forever to sync; However fear not. As I assumed .... the 'ledger' does keep track of all things.

Once it syncs, any 'coin' you've sent to the wallet will show up.

I may be in love....

To the moon?

Donation Section

* BLK (Blackcoin)

B6PUyTphK7jZp1SmdW8dhdSfi83bHLDKjs

* BTC (Bitcoin)

1DHs5KUQttALpqfQFmxurmTfjRQnvT3CM7

* ETH (Ethereum)

0xf8961bEe5B318b4d20188d9f46a3F3EA6e226eb2

* LTC (Litecoin)

LZJD2eacjnc3r1X7YDJKFrcZqBhXMzkuGF

* POT (Potcoin)

PSKmAnTXH5FafYBzCtwneqPffcbxjk66J6

* XEL (Elastic)

XEL-F8CU-SCEZ-HKFA-8XNDG

* SC (Siacoin)

1fed138f1bffd7795d0c84074256599de880bd678333680303b60cabad6a8b413122024645c0

* XST (Stealthcoin)

SBTF6SYeShC6jfdYmhi5kBku7No2z3VHkw

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64448.82
ETH 2646.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77