You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Happens when we Die?

in #showerthoughts7 years ago

Excellent, thought provoking piece @sykochica. Thanks for sharing and thank you also to my friend, @creatr for bringing the post to my attention.

I just wanted to leave a quick comment regarding whether or not we have a soul or not. It has been suggested that there is a massive release of dimethyltryptamine (DMT) into our brains before we are born and also at the moment of our death which some suggest could be the soul entering and leaving the body. It is also said to be released while we are sleeping in reduced amounts. Not sure how much there is to it but it's certainly something to think about if correct.

As to the question of reincarnation, there is definitely some interesting circumstantial evidence to suggest that this is the case with children having memories of past lives etc.

Also, the strange phenomena of transplant patients believing that they have inherited traits from their donors links both the physical and the spiritual in a way that requires more investigation.

Thanks for a great post!

Sort:  

Thank you! I really enjoyed putting this post together, being something I've thought about a lot over the years.

The DMT release has definitely been on my radar (along with some Terrance McKenna which I'm sure @winstonwolfe would love to chime in on at some point.) While I haven't had much doubt that it had some effect, I still had to be on the fence it that translated to us connecting with the rest of the universe versus the state taking place in our own mind and being more illusion (maya vs brahman.)

On the reincarnation...those are the sorts of things that really make me wonder. Sometimes it seems like it would explain so much if it were the case of characteristics being passed on from the donor or past life.

The skeptic in me has had a hard time on this front with there being more humans every year, meaning there can't be a one-to-one past life sort of thing. But at the same time, there's the concept of new, versus old souls...meaning only some of us would have that string of past lives available (though I've never met anyone who'd say/admit that they were a brand new soul.) However, this can all be explained away knowing that we do live in a finite size energy bubble (since I'm good believing in the conservation of energy)...meaning that everything on some level has be reincarnated in the energy sense, even if not in the consciousness (I'm not sure the right word here) sense.

In the end...definitely something that makes me go hrmmmmmmmmmmmmm while stroking my chin. Lol

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55258.26
ETH 2459.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19