Smarter Votes, More Options

in #showerthought8 years ago (edited)

The rewards for our posts do not come out of thin air. For that reason, we often feel like a post has been over-rewarded, since for every amount extra given to a post, it is money not available to all the other deserving posts out there.

Our current simple up and down votes are inadequate to express this view. When I initially see a post and it has $0.04, I may give it my upvote because I believe it deserves more than that. Later it may reach $1000, which may be far more than I believe it deserves, but my vote is still contributing to that value.

"Smart-votes" would allow us to express our intentions for the reward pool more clearly. What if I could choose a threshold or range to reward a post, as an alternative to a simple up or downvote? For example, my vote could say "I believe this is worth $100. My vote counts up to $100, but not beyond". Further functionality would include down-voting as well. "I believe this is worth somewhere between $100 and $1000. My upvote counts up to $100 and not beyond. My downvote counts if it goes beyond $1000". Ideally these downvotes would have no impact on reputation, since that is not the intent of the smart-vote.

Sort:  

That is a very clever idea, I hope we can get this implemented as an option, if people disagree with the ideology behind the smart vote, then there is no need to complain,they can just refrain from using it.

What I hope is that it enables the kind of voting many people are trying to do now but which causes fights simply because a downvote today is seen as a 'flag' which says "your post is bad and you should be punished via your reputation".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63