Showcase April - Thoughts from a Balcan Bus | Decisions

in #showcaseapril4 years ago
Three hours down, nine to go.

IMG_20190711_101301446.jpg

I figured I would make a thoughts from a post. It's been a while since I freewrite like this and I miss it.

Freewriting is my favorite kind of writing when it comes to steem posts and a lot of people have told me they really like them. For a writer, this is music to my ears but lately I haven't been able to do it much - or not at all pretty much - and I hate it, but I've been dedicating my time to other steem related stuff. As a friend of mine says, when steem moons there'll be time for travelling and writing post bullshit, focus on building right now.

He's right, it's building time. To build projects, relationships, partnerships and to build character. I think this is the worst time for me in terms of Steem price =/= value. Some of you may know and other might not but I invested 25k USD on steem back when it was worth .82 cents. Back then it looked like it couldn't go lower than that. Right now, I'm afraid we haven't seen the bottom and altough it's temporary, right now I live off of selling some Steem every now and then.

I don't want to sell. I'm not going to sell. But I need to make a living, even if it's a low budget nomadlike living like be and I can survive with 5 dollars a day anywhere on the planet. Which is exactly why I'm taking this Balcan bus.

Back in early 2010's I had a corporate job. A very good corporate job in terms of USD value and superb monetary value for Mexican standards. I used to do financial and strategic planning management for the biggest retail company in the continent.

Life was good, but money was the one in charge of all my decisions and corporate lobbying was my main drive; my free soul, my adventurous spirit, my thrill and adrenaline nature... They were just but a shade of what they once were. I was not myself anymore.

I went away. I traveled for a long, long period of time. Perhaps longer than what most people could even imagine, let alone endure. If I was able to, if I had the money, the energy, the passion and the time, or at least three out of those four, I would keep doing it.

But I think it's time for some routine and a normal life, at least for the next few years.

Which is exactly why I'm in this bus right now. I'm on my way to a job interview. A job where my old self fits the profile perfectly and I'm more than qualified to kick it's ass.

I'm not sure I'll get it, but hey, wish me luck will ya?

I have nothing to read about and one can only work so much while riding a bus sitting in a very small seat so I maybe I'll post some more thoughts later. I'm going to turn off my data so I don't run out of battery too fast - there are no chargers outlets here - but I'll reconnect later to reply to comments here :)



This post was originally posted in July 2019 and it's part of my initiative called showcase April, where I'll post the best content I've done over the past three years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81