You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Showcase Sunday: Mini camping

in #showcase-sunday5 years ago

It's a messed up world we live in and getting worse...Your "run home at night" comment...My wife and I used to go into the city, for a meal, a movie etc...These days we avoid it as we're likely to get stabbed...Harassed almost certainly. I'm no slouch as far as looking after myself...But me against multiple others? No thanks, not with my wife standing there also.

I'm not trying to say if one is out after dark in Adelaide they get stabbed...Just that it's rarely worth putting oneself in that position. It used to be that a look would deter a person, some calming non-confrontational words...These days with people on ICE and stuff...Anything can happen.

I have mates that are cops and they say the same thing...Stay away from hotspots. I'm glad I'm not a cop too...They can't even mace someone without a pile of paperwork...I'd be too liberal with the night-stick if I was a cop...And the sidearm. :)

I think a lot can be avoided by applying some situational awareness, which most don't have, but my ethos is to go from zero to a million in one second in the advent of a situation...Better to beg forgiveness than to wind up a victim of inaction. Just me though.

Sort:  

I think we’re of a like mind on this topic mate and you’ve hit the nail on the head with situational awareness and a big part of avoiding trouble and surviving anywhere even not in a conflict is always being aware. ( I also look back on my teens and early 20’s now and wonder how I survived with how dumb my choices were).

I agree with you though that it is always better to ask forgiveness later than loose that ability through inaction it is just bloody tricky to know where the line is these days. Touch wood, neither you nor I ever have to make that decision.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, I agree...Let's hope we are never in a situation that we have to decide on a course of action that has enormous consequences no matter the result. I guess all we can do is be as aware as we can, and know when to walk away quickly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58415.58
ETH 2485.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39