Show and Tell: Eve’s Little Slicer

in #showandtell7 years ago

lit1.jpg

I came across this new tag #showandtell, created by @saywha, from a post made by a fellow finn @apsu, and immediately got interested. Apparently this is a thing in American schools, where children bring something important to them to show to the class and tell them why the item holds a special meaning. I think it is a wonderful idea to bring this to Steemit!

I have a couple very special items that I want to showcase under this tag. I'm starting with this treasure just because it feels right.

This beautiful gem of a knife was MADE and gifted to me by someone very special in my life. We've known each other since I was a teenager, and the relationship with him is one of the longest lasting ones I have, counting out family. A man from the north, a hunter and a warrior, and a very smart man. He is a true old school artisan, amazing with his hands, a magician almost. I kind of want to show a picture of him also, but that would make all the ladies go crazy in here ;)

He made this particular knife for me, from scratch. It’s one of a kind, just like his maker. I believe the inspiration to this came from an old picture of me wearing mint color heels, and obviously the fact that I’m a cook. When I saw the raw material for the handle, I immediately fell in love with it. He also added the engraving on the blade as a clever finishing touch, so special. Even when I'm not using the knife, it's always on show. There used to be a time when I was scared to sleep alone, so I kept the knife beside my bed, more for the meaning of it than as an actual weapon.

Being an artisan myself, I have huge appreciation for people who create with their hands. The dedication, skill and time it takes to learn a craft and create a piece like this is something I hold in great value. And the fact that he used his valuable time and effort to make this specially for little ol' me, makes one feel all warm inside. It wasn't even for a birthday or christmas, it was just because.

As you can see, the knife is very beautiful, but it is also very very sharp, I’ve cut myself with it several times. Love hurts, they say.

lit2.jpg

My precious.

lit3.jpg

Be careful of the beautiful things.

Let's make this tag trending, I really wanna see what everyone else has to show!

Sort:  

nice post

Thanks for sharing, enjoy the vote!

Cool tag! gotta use it myself! Thanks for bringing to my attention. Also, that knife is FIRE

Very beautiful indeed and its very clear, how this must be a real treasure for you!

I collect woodworking tools and knifes. Not excessively, just a piece here and there that I like and I can actually use. Interestingly enough, my most valuable knife is also hand made, with a green handle (malachite) and I actually received it as a gift too, although not from an exceptional member of the opposite sex :-)

You should definitely make a show and tell post too, I'm sure you have something really interesting we'd like to see :)

Well crafted, nice show and tell :). I need to get a knife but looking for just the right one.

I went to a school that did show and tell as a kid, and I can tell you, it works a lot better on this platform, where it's optional. We would do it on a certain day of the week, every week. It became very difficult to come up with things to bring in for show and tell to show the class. I don't even remember what sorts of things I brought in, but I remember disliking the task, because I had to come up with a new thing every week, and then go in front of the class and talk about it.

That sounds horrible! I'm so sorry for you. It doesn't make sense to teach kids that they should have to have a new really meaningful item every damn week. And the speaking in front of the class is just hell, pure hell.

That is a gorgeous knife

watching your posts makes me fall in love with Finland, I guess?

The first two images seem like they are 3D models, so I wasn't sure should I believe this is true or not :D

That one is really good looking. Even though I do not know the whole story behind the knife, it's great you have such a appreciation on the item :)

Haha, that's weird :D

Thanks for introducing me to this tag! :)

This post was upvoted & promoted by @monitorcap traffic bot.

Send minimum 1 SBD to @monitorcap bot with your link in MEMO field and recieve random upvote & post promotion in our daily TOP posts listings. @monitorcap - where 'seen' matters !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56