Liar (Steemit Short Story)

in #shortstory6 years ago (edited)

I just wanna share something I made before, basing it on Katy Perry's song "Thinking of You". I hope you'll enjoy reading this.

TITLE: Liar
SONG: Thinking of You by Katy Perry

I took a sip from the cold coffee I had ordered a few minutes ago. The café was awfully quiet since there weren't really a lot of customers around. I was alone with only the sound of boring background music keeping me company.

I turned my head when I heard the bell by the door clang, signalling that someone had just come in. To say I was disappointed was an understatement as soon I saw that the person who came in was not the person I was expecting. Sighing, I took a sip from my coffee once again as I try to drown my thoughts of him.

I need to seriously move on, I thought.


"Hey babe," Jace called out to me, waving his hand. He walked towards me and took his hoodie off, leaving only his white shirt on. "Were you waiting--"

"Don't worry, I just got here." I cut him off. For some reason, I didn't want to talk to him right now.

He smiled, showing his perfect teeth. He took the seat across mine and leaned in a little closer to me. He took my hands and asked, "So what did you want to talk about?"

"I want to break up."

He tightened his grip on my hand, "What?"

"I'm sick of everything," I pulled my hand away from his grip and stood up, slinging my bag over my shoulder. "I don't love you anymore." Liar. Farrah, you are a huge liar.

I left him there that day, stunned, not being able to move from where he sat. He didn't even say a word, nothing. We both knew everything had to end yet none of us had the courage to say it. And so, I did. Not for my sake but for his.

I loved him and I still do. That will never change.

I regret leaving him that day. But I had to.


Stirring my coffee, I looked outside the window. It started to rain and people ran to shelter from it. Maybe I was like that. Maybe I had to run away so I won't feel uncomfortable, escaping from what everyone had to say.

But maybe if I stayed in the rain, maybe I would have enjoyed it without caring about anything in the world but just my own happiness.

Too bad, I was a coward. And I can't go back now.

"Earth to, Farrah."

I snapped out of my little reverie as I heard Chris' voice. He smiled as he poked my forehead, "You were dozing off, ready to go?"

I smiled back.

I picked up my bag and stood up, leaving a tip beside my unfinished coffee. Chris snaked his hand around my waist and leaned in to give me a peck. I stared at him and he stared back, "Is something wrong?"

I shook my head and chuckled, "It's nothing. Let's go."

Liar. Because for a second his lips met mine, I felt Jace's lips, not his.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58617.29
ETH 3164.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44