The Forever Traveler - Short Story written by me

in #shortstory8 years ago (edited)

It's been some time since I've written anything. As far as short stories, I've only written a few so I figured I'd give it another go. Go easy on me lol. Well here it goes, hope you enjoy it thus far. image

Hello everyone , I'm Joe the forever traveler. What is a forever traveler you ask? Well let me tell you but first let me tell you my story.
You see I grew up on a farm in a little town in Kentucky called Masonville on Old Redwood Road. I have two brothers and two sisters. I am the middle child. My older brothers Charlie and Chuck and my younger sisters Caitlin and Marie. My paw, brothers and myself worked the farm, while maw and my sisters tended to cooking, cleaning, shopping, making and mending our cloths. My maw was also our teacher. You see, we were home schooled so we could tend to the farm between learning. Charlie is now 25 and Chuck is 21. Both have since left the farm life and started families of their own. My sisters Caitlin and Marie are now 15 and 13 and still help maw around the house and do what they can to help paw in the pasture but it just isn't enough and he is struggling to keep the farm going on his own. Where am I you say? Well I am a forever traveler, remember? I can't go home. I travel on foot, all over with just the cloths on my back. I'm just 16 how could this happen to me? Well, we'll get to that as the story continues.
Now I'm just out here walking around this world. I've been to so many wonderful places but, I'm tired and just want to go home. It gets lonely out here all alone. The days are dreary and the nights are cold. Night is approaching as I walk this dirt country road.
I see a small log cabin in the distance that appears to be run down an unlivable, but I see a dim light coming from inside. Are my eyes deceiving me or could it be the moon shining through that I see? I slowly get closer as night fall takes over and the air gets colder. Feels as though I've been walking for hours and still haven't reached the small log cabin. Is it just a mirage? I continue to walk in hopes it's more than just a mirage. I'm getting colder as night has now taken over and I walk to reach the small log cabin. I tread on for a bit more, when I finally reach the small log cabin's door. The dim light I was seeing, was just that, a dim lit lantern slowly burning out that can be seen in the dirty window.
There doesn't appear to be anyone around so, I decided to try the door and....it opens! So I take a step inside and right away I can smell the scent of a burning wood stove and feel the warmth it brings. As I step further into the cabin trying to see my way around with just the dim light emitting from the lantern, I start to see a figure come into view. I say hello, my name is Joe. Sorry to intrude, I thought this place was unoccupied. You see, I've been walking for days and was hungry, tired and cold when I came upon your home. Then, I waited for a response but it never came. Did they not hear me? Maybe they're deaf. So, I continued to advance forward as to get closer so they could hear me but as I did such, the shadow disappeared into the darkness of the next room.
I feel a bit afraid now but, I must push forward. I've come to far to turn around, so I slowly continue making my way toward the next room and the closer I get the harder it becomes to see what is in front of me but, I was starting to smell the scent of what appeared to me as a pot roast.
Well after bumping into and stumbling over some furniture, I've finally reached the threshold into the next room and as I begin to peer in, I feel a cold hand take hold of my shoulder and a voice so softly spoken, say it's to late. To late? To late for what I wondered.
I turned to question this softly spoken voice, only to realize there wasn't anyone there, yet, how could that be? I can still feel the cold hand that has been placed upon my shoulder.
Although I'm a bit scared, at the same time I feel a peace come over me. At this point I wasn't sure what to do. Should I turn and leave in fear or embrace the peace that has come over me and, press forward to find out what lies ahead. What this spoken, to late is all about.

*****TO BE CONTINUED*****

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60728.44
ETH 2653.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59