LETTERS TO J episode 6 (WANT)

in #shortstory6 years ago

‪+234 817 157 9608‬ 20180309_171336.jpg

LETTERS TO J episode 6 (WANT)

Dear J.

Were you ever broke? Did you and your gang of 12 men ever have days where you had no money? Were there times when you didn't know where the next meal was coming from but still had hope that it'll get there in time? I can only guess you did. I doubt you've ever been as broke as I have been though. As broke as I am now. In fact, every student in a Nigerian University doubts you've ever been as broke as they have. Maybe that's the problem. Maybe that's why we're afraid to lay it all at your feet. Because we'll feel like “oh... He won't understand.”

images (20).jpeg

But I noticed something though. J... Hope you're still reading. I sincerely hope you are. I noticed that no matter how bad things get. No matter how broke I think I am, there's always someone “broker.” And no matter how hungry I seem to get, with or without money, food always comes just in the nick of time. Just in the nick of time J. Was that you and the father looking out for me?

Even then, I always wonder. Why do you let your children suffer want?

I saw a girl today J. She sat in a booth right across the road from me. Passersby dropped food and water for her as they passed even though she wasn't exactly begging. Why did they feel the need to do that you ask? You should have seen this girl J. Her beautiful face was the map to where hunger and want live. Her skin sagged from her bones like a dirty rag thrown over a metal ring. I looked at her, but I didn't see her. I saw suffering.

images (21).jpeg

The worst part wasn't seeing this girl. The worst part was not having anything to give to her. I cried inside. Maybe a little outside as well. Because I couldn't understand why the children of God would be allowed to suffer that way.

images (19).jpeg

I'm not moved by money, fame and material things. But I work hard all the same, not for myself, but for all the lives I want you to help me touch.

download (2).jpeg

Maybe there was someone that was sent from you as a helping hand to that girl. Someone who did not help for one reason or another. Lord... Never let me be like that person. Open my eyes that I may see. Open my hands that I may always have a way to help.

Until then, I'll do all I can J. Help me to understand why people suffer. Bless me that I may bless others. Wipe the tears I cry from my eyes. The tears I cry whenever I see suffering. Let me never lose this Spirit of benevolence. And I'll praise you all the days of my life.

For now... Enjoy your evening J.

Oh... One more thing. Let the red devils lose tonight will you? There's been a lot of bragging lately that I could really do without. Come on bro. Do it for me.

images (24).jpeg

Your Friend

Henry Crown

#henrycrown

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68147.96
ETH 3273.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66