Sandcastle | Short Story

in #shortstory6 years ago


I don't remember if there was an instance in my life that I became complete but there was one thing I was sure of, I was alive back then. I was once a kid who played with the sand but there's this one girl who came over and said, "Can I help you build a castle?" We built a castle made of sand but aside from that, we built another connection.

I listened every time she talks and as I look at her eyes filled with enthusiasm and innocence, I knew that her heart is gold. She laughed even though she is already untidy and tired, she smiled even though she is pissed off with our castle knocked down by the waves and from that moment on, I knew that her heart is happy.

As minutes pass by, I knew her and how she deals with the world around her. Her soul was restless, it seeks for adventures and stories from one place to another. The sun was touching her skin, the sand was sticking in her hair, the waters are crawling beneath her thighs but those things cannot shroud the fire in her soul. I looked at her not only with amazement but with something more than that. I fell in love with her.

I fell in love with her just like how her hair falls from her shoulders. I love her just like how she loves the world around her. I poured out everything in my chest and surprisingly, she did the same. Everything went right for us and it seemed so perfect, and free from flaws and lapses but as I said, it seemed. Her dad shouted from the distance and told her that they are going home and from that moment, I know that I will lose her from my reach, like the sands falling down from my clenched fists.

I broke down and knelt just like how our castle fell down from its glory. My eyes were wet by tears, for the first time after all these years. I was restless and insane then she became the catalyst of my pain. It shattered me, she shattered me. And from then on, I realized that she played so safe to the point that she isn't safe for me anymore.

Photo credits : https://www.pinterest.com/

Sort:  

I will upvote and resteem your last blog post to my 36,000+ followers for free if you reply to this comment. Follow @a-0-0

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by the communal account, @steemph.cebu by briandominise being run at Teenvestors Cebu (Road to Financial Freedom Channel). This service is exclusive to Steemians following the Steemph.cebu trail at Steemauto. Thank you for following Steemph.cebu curation trail!

Don't forget to join Steem PH Discord Server, our Discord Server for Philippines.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.91
ETH 2476.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38