Away from home

in #shortstories6 years ago

images.jpg
I felt the cool air on my skin. The ground was wet and muddy,and i knew we weren't supposed to go outside,but i knew i had to see it.
It was beautiful,the sky was red and i just wanted to sing,and so i did. Everytime i was outside,i felt as though i was a new person;everytime i sang though,it was as if i was liberated.
All of a sudden,it started again. I tried to block the thoughts,but they just kept coming. They've never been this strong.My feet kept burning and i felt as though my heart would pop out of my chest.
I started moving...slowly. This was the perfect oppurtunity and i knew it,we all knew it. We were too scared to move though,except me.
I turned back, and then i saw Nwakego. I couldn't just leave her there. She was my favourite,the only one who loved me despite all my 'faults'. She told a lie for me once,and was rewarded with whips and blows. Her fingers never remained the same,i don't remember how many she has now. My all time favourite,i couldn't let her go through all we had been through. I had to protect her.
I ran to her and kissed her on her head.I told her i was sorry and that I'll be back for her. She told me she was sorry too. I didn't understand at first,then i did.
When i came to,I nearly passed out again. Ginika was dead;yet she was here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66254.46
ETH 3319.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69