Technobody / Short Film + The age of consumerism

in #short6 years ago (edited)

In the age of information, where everything around us is constantly updating and getting one step ahead of the game, it is overwhelming easy to get a bit lost in the chaos and forget who we really are, what we really want and how to achieve it. For we are living in a time where the primary concern of the masses is how to keep those printed paper stacks flowing in, and any slight dribble of thought in towards the direction of ambition, personal development and self worth is easily pushed to the side.
This is a concept that I would love to gain a better understanding of, as much as it frightens me, how quickly an individual will lose hope and abandon an idea that they had once been passionate about. How the lack of personal drive seems to be a vastly spreading infection that shows no mercy to whom it infects.
At only 19, I am still new to the world and how it all works, but the one thing that has stalked me every step of the way, is the fact my entire education was a big fat lie. It was only a couple of weeks after I left school that I actually realized all the garbage I’d been fed for the last 12 or so years about if you work hard enough you’d be able to eventually, get any job you’d like. It was all just made up, well in my instance anyway, I’m not speaking for everyone here as everyone’s circumstances are different. I left school, I studied hard at college, I got the highest possible grade in my subject (film & media) 2 years running. And it was only last month, 3 years since I left school that I finally left my part time day job in public service that paid my bills. And that wasn’t even because I managed to find a position relevant to my chosen career. It was because I could literally feel myself going crazy after washing the same plates every week for the last 3 years, with no foreseeable end in sight.
Point is? The only way that I as an individual will be able to escape the unproductive and mind numbingly dull, inevitable future of being locked in a crappy job for eternity, is to go out there, on my own, create, build and learn. To go out and find the problems with the world that everybody else is just overlooking, and make it so people can no longer turn their heads in blissful ignorance. To develop myself as a person, and my professional skills. To stay 100% focused on my goal and never, never forget that you get out of life what you put into it.
I know what I want to do with my life, and I see most obstacles in the way and solutions for overcoming them. But you know what I don't see often enough, the one thing that baffles me more than the universe itself? Why does it seem like hardly anybody around me is bothered. A factor that is such a huge part of my life and what I do on a daily basis, what I strive to achieve, is so easily overlooked by almost everybody I know. Why is everybody so happy with working the same job day in day out, knowing that the only end in sight is either temporary or when most of your life has passed and it's too late to go and do all those crazy things you once hoped for.
Is it because we are living in the age of consumerism, where the average person's only weekly goal is to pay the rent on time and then get smashed out of their face at the weekends? A time where there is no escaping the constant pushing in our faces, of meaningless products we are only told will make us feel better, by greedy companies that literally could not care less about you, or anyone else, only money. Has it started to effect how we think and behave as human beings, leaving us motivated only towards something that will leave us with cash in our pockets, so we can go and purcahse even more pointless products, just because we're told to.
Or have I maybe just lost my mind...?

I decided, as an aspiring filmmaker, that turning my thoughts into a visual sequence would be a quirky and out of the box way to express my concerns on the subject.

You can view my film here:

Thank you for reading and please do let me know your thoughts, I'm very interested to know what everyone thinks or if I've just confused everybody.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58270.16
ETH 2600.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39