My thoughts on pricing at Muji Vancouver

in #shopping5 years ago

f79ait.jpg

gzg6qp.jpg

I like Muji but I've no idea how the prices vary between products in different currencies. I understand that Japan has cheaper prices as Muji is a Japanese company but there is examples of wild fluctuations of FX rate used between euro and Canadian dollars to the detriment of Canadians.

The FX rate between Canadian dollars and on 2 products is widely different.

59.95 euro for one product is listed as 89.00 Canadian sounds reasonable. 1.48 FX rate which is close to the real cad/euro rate

69.95 euro for another product is somehow listed as $149 Canadian dollars. FX rate 2.13

10 euro more and 50 dollars more

Canadian customers are being absolutely robbed for the second price. Also euro prices are listed inclusive of sales tax ( I'm from Ireland in Europe so I have experience on both sides of the Atlantic)

I'd love the chance to pay in euro for the second product in Vancouver.

Also having a security guard follow you around the shop makes me less likely to return. It's just uncomfortable for someone to be watching you closely. The guy in question was an overweight coloured man. I know his job is loss prevention but I'm curious what made him suspicious of me in my suit from work.
Are they trained to make normal customers uncomfortable? There has to be some sort of balance between creating and maintaining a good environment in the store and preventing theft.

Please be advised I posted this also as a review online Google reviews so you'd see it there too

Sort:  

Congratulations @ronswanson92! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Yay!
Your post has been boosted with ESTM. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54864.63
ETH 2298.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30