Some for you, some for me

in #shitposting5 years ago (edited)

I think the post that took you 3 hours is a #shitpost, but I like the one that photo of your feet at the Sea shore.




Last night I listened to ned and elipowell on pennsif's Thursday night show on Discord. It was interesting to hear a little more about ned's background, and especially with regards to his motivation to get into Crypto... 'freedom'. Nice name-drop Ned 😉

Anyway, of just as much interest was listening to what elipowell said about the future of steemit inc in regards to steemit.com. I'll not quote directly (as I can't remember the exact words) but it sounded to me like they would like steemit.com to become the homepage for everyone interested in cryptocurrency.

Well that's me done then - I think I've written 2, maybe 3, 'articles' on cryptocurrency, and none of them I would value as being worth their place on the homepage of website. OK, I'm overreacting, there is scope for a multitude of other topics, but now I'm more aware of why I've not had that illusive vote from ned/freedom/steemit as yet. My posts unrelated to cryptocurrency, and therefore of no interest.

One could argue that a post of no interest to the reader could be deemed a shitpost. But...

... (A) shitpost will also have to be fast, if you use 30 minutes crafting it, it isn’t a shitpost anymore. source

Eve uses time as a metric.

I even vote on some Steemmonsters posts from time to time to support people who do play as well as on some Actifit posts, even though I am not a big fan of the posts themselves as, I am a fan of the people posting. source

And Taraz doesn't care so much as long as he likes you, and you aren't being a dick.

@anomadsoul also supports this somewhat, offering respite to authors who generally post something half decent:

....the reason I've voted some of those shitposts I saw the past weeks, because the authors deserve a break after making top posts after top posts source

By the way Eve, you stole Eric's title 😛 Don't worry though, I stole his main image 😃


A couple of recent examples to discuss in light of the above:



The first post took around two hours and has 4 comments, one of which is mine, and two are automated.

The second post took 20 minutes, has a photo of feet as the main image, and is still receiving comments 4 days on.

Which is the shitpost?

The answer for some will likely be 'both', but that's OK though - neither sparked interest for that particular reader.

@utopian-io seek the first, I'm asked to produce this report weekly, although I often hold back because of the lack of contributions to the category. This is a post for me. I'm well aware that it is unlikely to be of interest to almost all of the people that visit my blog, but (excluding 'promoted' posts), it will likely be my biggest earner.

The second post is also for me in that I didn't spend the whole day producing it. A shitpost in Eve's book, or a 'disguised shitpost' because I scraped 110 words together, and potentially a shitpost in Taraz's eyes too, but he did vote for it (manually), so perhaps I've not been a dick, too much.

Another example:



This is the post I produce each week that I consider is for you. It can take up to 3 hours to produce, and a couple more hours to curate. The rewards (minus the bot send / prize issuance / subscription to the data source) are small - smaller than the 20 minute foot-job above.

However, for some this post will hold no interest - it's Steem related (yep, a popular dislike), the reader may not care for engagement or community building, and the post is voted on early and so lacks decent curation.


This could be considered a shitpost and a waste of time and effort - perhaps I should have just titled it 'quality is subjective', and left it at that? Or maybe not......

WikiPedia:

Shitposting is posting large amounts of content of "aggressively, ironically, and trollishly poor quality" to an online forum or social network, in some cases intended to derail discussions or otherwise make the site unusable to its regular visitors.

And so most of us are in the clear then?


Personally, I think a variety of content is the best way forward for your 'everyday' blogger. Short efforts, longer pieces, and selection of topics, in the hope that you aren't seen as a lazy fucker, let people into your life somewhat, and sometimes say something of interest to someone.

Enjoy your day!

Asher

Sort:  

For fucks sake Asher, you are the worst at making a shitpost! Turn that brain off some time.

We agree on the matter of this all being subjective, no simple metric defines what is and what is not a shitpost. I think what we all have to do is stay true to ourselves and like @whatsup, just keep posting, keep being active.

Yeah mate, your shitpost was as bad at being a shitpost as Eve's shitpost was. You both suck at shitposting...Well, you did today anyway. 🤔😉

Posted using Partiko Android

heh :)

Personally, I don't think I added much to the topic, and so to me, that's shitpost criteria. But then to spend some time and thought on the matter, research older posts, etc, and not be a total troll (Wiki criteria, I like a bit of trolling), maybe the post has escaped this time.

I think everyone has a go at shitposting however the calibre of the shitpost is higher or lower depending on the person.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think I've learned how to do it right this afternoon 😁

😂

One day I will surprise you with the absolute shittest of shitposts.

I've been ignored by 3 people in the last week though, sooo, fuck those guys?

LOL that's quite some list of disengaged folk you have there Asher 😂

image.png

I recognise 4/5 names, I guess it could be a lot worse!

@teamhumble though - my heart man, you broke me :P

Must say I was surprised that so many have muted you. I guess it scales up somewhat, although pretty hard to imagine you being offensive as such. Perhaps some folk feel uncomfy hearing voices that emanate from outside their echo-chamber 😌. I only recognise two names on your list. Yeah, Smartsteem eh, dunno what happened there but perhaps there were some cross-channel crossed-wires (has happened a few times in history lol)? The other name I am 'aware' of is the final one and personally, I wouldn't be losing any sleep 😋.

My list is small, but, umm let me think of an adjective.... distinguished :)
image.png

Edit: just realised smartsteem is TRW and not whom I was thinking of....kinda understand your reaction even more now

Looks like a long list of shit-posting spammers if I'm being honest, the last name would certainly sit well on a list with that heading.

Myself and wolf had had our disagreements in the past, I guess it was then. I guess it is the hope of many though, to be ignored by a bot :)

Only two names, you are doing well. I would assume the latter relates to the recent saga, not a good time for many I feel, but hopefully that is behind us now.

😂

I remember one such disagreement last year and was put off by his responses and what appeared to me to be some slippery side-stepping. I have now warmed to him - especially after hearing him speak on MSPWaves. (Edit: I've been confusing teamhumble and smartsteem in my comment above....oops)

.......more specifically, it was this which prompted the muting! An example, I believe, of switching off an exo-chamber voice (perhaps one perceived as 'inner' before) 😌

I think you've pretty much hit the nail on the head in your last paragraph.

Quality is somewhat subjective. Different audiences want different things. Some want your in depth analysis of how many times @johndoer123 has used the letter X in comments in the past year, while others are more interested in looking at your feet. The rest are probably somewhere in between.

So long as posters aren't plagiarising (and some would add blatant bid bot abuse to this as well), then if Steem is to be a social community hub, there is a place for all types of posts.

Posted using Partiko Android

How many kisses @johndoer123 has given out this week? :D

Maybe we should look at 'New' before planning a shitpost - that could help with lowering own standards.

😘😙😗😚
😁😁😁😁😁

You can vote because you like the author or the content. Don't do it if you hate it. That's the wrong signal and makes your day miserable.
Somebody else still might like it - which is also fine.
We pretend to be adults here from time to time.

The constant focus on crypto posts limits steem to a nerdy forum. I was under the impression that this should be a social network - not the "1337 haxXxor flag club".

Posted using Partiko Android

The constant focus on crypto posts limits steem to a nerdy forum.

Yeah, I was a bit surprised by the comment but maybe I took it the wrong way.

If all STEEM/Steemit was intended to be was the 1337 haXxor flag club, then Ned and friends have been doing a lousy job of reigning in the rest of us unruly cats. I know personally, I've been making a habit of avoiding most crypto posts, while making sure my own crypto-related posts are kept to a minimum. :) And there you go talking about being an adult again. :)

My argument is going in the opposite direction. We need more unruly cats :D Meaning people who don't care about crypto - like 98.5849% of society (this is my conservative estimate).

Posted using Partiko Android

Not only are own arguments heading in the same direction, they're like one, man! Long live the unruly cats!

There's a good chance I'm way off, Asher, but there's something in the 'tone' of this post that makes me worry a bit... I don't care about the definition of a shitpost,... After reading this, I'm just wondering if you're okay...

Well, thanks for asking :)

I'm pretty sure I'd finished this post before reading (and resteeming) another by @steemmatt, which has certainly had an impact on the last hour of my day.

That post has got me thinking, and I have to be weary of doing that on that particular topic too much.

Like Matt, I have something like 'eternal unfinished business' with my late Father, which I have touched on in the past, and stated I'm doing much better with.

Other than that, I am a touch bored at present, and seeking a little more personal interaction with those that 'get me'. Old friends, my brother, and daughter come to mind. I know where they are, and how to make that happen more, and so I guess it's on me.

x

I must admit that the post from Matt has left me a bit speechless...
My own experience of having that 'eternal unfinished business' with my mum isn't a big deal compared to that (and from what I think I remember from reading in one of your posts a long time ago) and I was convinced I had come to terms with it, but now it seems that's not completely true. Just like you, it got me thinking... and I need to stay away from that.

I can totally relate to having the need for being around people that 'get you'... In your case, I assume it means returning to the UK?
Don't overthink it too much - if it is something that would make you feel good, just go for it. Because doing what you think would be good for you is in fact the only thing that is really important...

Staying away is a good ploy, some stuff cannot be fully fixed, and distance seems to help acceptance, I think!?

It is tough though, especially when you have a lot of time on your hands.

Just keep posting, don't be so dramatic over a shit post or two... :)

!dramatoken

You asked for it - I think I've posted a winner!

dramatoken <3


Here's your DRAMA. Don't spend it all in one place!

To view or trade DRAMA go to steem-engine.com.

I’ve totally noticed this too!! Sometimes the post that took me hours and hours to assemble get way less engagement than my “shit post” or short form kinda stuff.

I have a few thoughts on why that is... maybe I’ll make a response post chatting about it this week if I have time. 😂

Right!

I think people just skim posts for a sentence to make a reply from, this is harder when the text is huge - maybe it scares people?

I'll be dropping by to see your theories :D (Remember to keep it short!)

hahah keeping it short would be a good idea. 😂 I think i want to do a video screen share comparison of two of my posts... so maybe I'll give a "shit post overview" at the bottom of the post. haha 🤷‍♀️

Alright... it's up! Definitely didn't make it short ... i'm too long winded for that! lol

Did give a little "cliffnotes" version though. lol

I no longer see Steemit as a blogging platform but rather as something of a social mining platform with dapps that can be used as an actual real blog. Most posts on the platform have no real function aside from the post earnings and would not exist if there was nothing to earn. I often feel stupid sticking to max 1 post a day and often spending hours on a post but I just can't help it :)

The platform is what it is and I don't mind so much, I just wish there was a better way to filter actual content in the feed without getting bombarded daily with all the rather empty actifit / steemmonsters / drugwars / ... posts that mostly just make use of those project free quick upvotes. I guess I'll have to take some time to clean out my followers list and find some more actual content that interests me.

Keep it up Asher !

A social mining platform, that sounds about right :)

Some prefer to focus on the mining for the most part, but i like the social side too.

It's generally 1 post each day for me too, yesterday was an experiment. I know there are many others posts 3/4/5 times a day, often via alts, but I'm ok with this plan.

I have posted on 2 of the 3 topics you mention, but try to keep it to a minimum, cheers!

Does that mean I should start collecting TA screenshoot and write
" expect bull run" ?

At least put "Boom!" or "Wow!" in the title, jeez.

“Wow Boom Expect Bull run!” Here are some tea leaves to prove it

Definitely! Please include a picture of tea leaves in it to work as disclaimer xD

I curate tea leaves also.

Sounds good, but maybe slip something of greater effort in there too occasionally?

best I can do with my " WOW expect bull run" ! massive bitcoin adoption All caps lock is additional meme I collected from twitter.

I think people, for the most part, should create to the breadth and width of the post that is going keep them wanting to create more. As long as they are somewhat happy with it and it’s their own content and not just an attempt to copy/paste massive amounts of other people’s work.

What I find most interesting about a “shitpost” vs something you spend way too much time creating. Is that “shitpost” gets a lot more comments and that longer post gets impressions off search engines and click thoughts.

I have one article up this week that I spent over 150 hours in the making of it. A bulk of it playing the game to gain the experience to cover everything I wanted to address. Along with quite a few hours writing and rewriting it to rank better in SEO (keywords, linking out to different articles to relate it, bunch other stuff.) Then you have social media and sites I post a small blurb of my content to with a link out to it my engrave version that I also try and engage on to drive up my following.

Can I write something like that all the time? Heck no and most games out there are just not deep enough. That are thankfully not as time consuming to play to get to a point where I feel it’s time to create content around it.

It took weeks to create that and yes there was some update posts here or there about my progression in that game along the way that people would call “shit posting.”

Once I go back around and update a bunch of posts they will be linking to it. I’m also going promote the daylights out of it outside of our Steem bubble to drive more traffic despite the fact those people are more than likely never going be on this platform and not upvote it. Heck, I’ll be linking, back linking stealing, and sharing it far beyond the 7-day upvote window. I’ll also click the edit button once in a blue moon to make it more relevant to any small changes that are made regarding that part of the game.

150 hours on a post, and you know you wont be getting value in monetary terms - not possible under current conditions.

That's more like a labor of love, I've produced a couple of those. And then yeah, you'll do a shortie and earn the same. Tough to keep at the stuff you are proud of, and the likely reason we are where we are.

Well done for updating older stuff too, nothing for that game $ wise either as yet.

Hahaha :) Well, an article of mine takes me more than a week to create... and it has nothing to do with crypto... :D Shitpost I guess :D

My first impression of Steemit even before I signed in was that it is a platform where people write about... how to use Steemit. Something like a Facebook on which people describe how to use Facebook. And that's it. :D

Then I discovered different communities and people who write on various topics - poets, writers, photographers, artists, scientists, enterpreneurs, etc... And I thought: "Hm, maybe I was wrong, these people don't write about Steemit".

Now, I am getting the impression that the CEO crew actually aims for Steemit people writing about using Steemit. Which sounds ridiculous to me. If they want to make their currency worthy it must be attractive for the masses. For people like me.

Niall has explained better than me what was said last night, but I still think the priority is a homepage for crypto.

My first ever post was titled something like 'a distant dad's battle with depression', so yeah, I came to write also.

13000 followers later, in interested to see how that post would do now as far as engagement, the original got one comment I think.

Hopefully communities will help organise people into their focus areas, whatever that is on a particular day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48