Enough

in #shitpost6 years ago (edited)

with the “we hit 1 million users” posts. Considering %95 of that metric consists of dead accounts.

Sort:  

Even if this is a shitpost, you should probably correct the "wiith" ;)

His hands were shaking angrily while typing I guess:))

That's a no. :D

lol, while I think 95% might be an exaggeration, I get the point! You have my vote as witness, just for this comment alone! @ironshield

while I think 95% might be an exaggeration, I get the point

It's not really that much of an exaggeration though. There are about 60,000 active accounts as per the @steemitblog milestone announcement, which can be calculated to see that only 6 % of the accounts are currently active. This means that 94 % are inactive accounts, so I would not say that @emrebeyler's number is wrong or exaggerated at all.

That's amazing. And how many of those 60K accounts are bots or alt accounts? I wonder how many people are really in this room? @ironshield

That would be interesting to find out, but that's probably a lot more difficult to figure out without manually checking each account.

I know people, even some top Witnesses, want to be optimistic, but it's really dumb that we only have 5-digits in active accounts and even those are not 100% real humans.

I see that does a good job as a witness, has my vote, I will be attentive to learn a tips of their teachings

From SteemSQL :)

SELECT COUNT(DISTINCT voter) from TxVotes WHERE timestamp BETWEEN GETDATE() - 30 AND GETDATE()

Result: 147013

Does that mean 85% of accounts have not performed an upvote in 30 days? Wow! @ironshield

Very disheartening!

ned comes to for flag :D

I did my deed already this morning

Lol, yeah! 1million milestone achievement. 1million is still 1million (even with dead accounts) :D

Here is the latest stats from @arcange:
https://steemit.com/pt/@arcange/steemit-statistics-20180516-pt

This graph is worrying:

It shows a worrying decrease of post and comment contributors over the last 5 months...

Not sure why there was a big spike in January. New year phenomenon?

Also, there appears to be around 80,000 individual accounts submitting a post over the last month.

That's an 8% posting participation.

In my mind the only way to improve on this is to get behind efforts such as @curie and Hivemind

This percentage is more important than the total number of accounts.

only a new year phenomenon in the sense that the price of steem had shot up and people were piling in. When it dropped they dropped off as well. Sort of fair weather steemians.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30