Got my Shift card today!

in #shift8 years ago (edited)

So today I got my Visa Shift card!

It's a debit card that connects to your Coinbase account, and allows you to withdraw/spend money anywhere Visa is accepted.

Here is my first attempt at using it today, but I only tried .05 cents and received an error message :(

The error message said "Limit exceeded on items" but I do have $21 on the card so not sure what happend..

If anyone has an idea why it didn't work or what this error means please let me know, and I will try again at Wal-Mart tonight.

Sort:  

I can tell you from personal experience that Love's Truck Stops say that a lot with Pre-Paid cards. I have an American Express Bluebird card I been using for years and get that message a lot at Love's.

Also why not get a BitPay card (bitpay.com/visa)? It isn't tied to any Exchange (you load what you want, when you want or direct deposit your pay directly to the card as BTC). It is a better banking solution that fiat banks or Shift and it isn't run by the freaking CIA like CoinBase!

Oh and what you doing at a truckstop @stealthtrader?

Nice that's good news.. and I'm in Oklahoma right now and all of the local gas stations are Love's too :D
But always heard the Shift one was better.. I guess I need to get the BitPay one too :/

The only thing I found, so far, that I don't like about the BitPay Visa is that they pre-set your pin and I haven't found a way (the way) to change it yet.

Shift card is the same..actually ordered my Bitpay last week to give that a whirl to:)

I just ordered my Bitpay card today :D

Been using my Shift card now since June, I use it a lot but only when I can take advantage of the BTC price to maximize the spend value. I have had no issues with the card the only gripe I have is it uses the default Coinbase wallet and that's it and it sets your pin using your phone number and can't be changed. Apart from that it is and can be very convenient.

Yeah @cryptoiskey I was like hmm.. A LOT of people know my phone number :/

lol, exactly it is a weird setup..i have never come across something where you can't set your own password. I am sure they will change that.

Yeah when I tried it today I called customer service lol and it told me to leave a message.. but I did get the app to finally work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62877.62
ETH 3140.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89