Labor Day in the United States - My Entry for the Share Your World Contest #2

in #shareyourworld6 years ago (edited)

Source

Labor Day is my favorite holiday in the United States for many reasons. It is celebrated on the first Monday in September, giving that first week of the month a long weekend. It is a Federal Holiday celebrated everywhere in the country. It is an older, well-established holiday that started at the end of the 1800’s.

Labor day is supposed to be a celebration of the American Worker (Hahahahaha! Our overlords love this irony.)

my favorite holiday labor day fitinfun.jpg

Instead Labor Day is more like celebrating the unofficial end of summer. Oddly enough, most places you want to go are still open. Offices and some factory-type places will be closed and those workers get the day off. I was an office worker for most of my life in the states and always had the day off.

Labor Day has no pressure:

  • No gifts are exchanged
  • No ceremonies are held
  • It is not controversial for the most part
  • There is usually good weather for it
  • It is not on a Tuesday, Wednesday, or Thursday, so you do not end up with a crazy week
  • It kicks off the fall and winter holiday season (more days off to come!)
  • In a lot of school districts it falls right after school starts for the year, so you get a quick break
  • In other school districts it is the weekend right before school starts, so you can rest and prepare
  • You can go shopping and no one cares; everything is open (people are laboring over there lol)
  • You can go to the beach
  • You can have a picnic
  • You can do anything fun
  • You can do nothing (Me!)
  • You usually don’t need to drive anywhere (Me!)

I’m not too big on holidays since I am nomadic and I find the pressure to be high for a lot of them. Many require gifts to be exchanged and I am not too good with shopping. Any gift I receive will be lost next time I move, so I feel bad about that when it happens. Many holidays have places you need to be and big expectations for how they will transpire.

Labor Day is chill. If you go back to work on Tuesday and say you did nothing, everyone is fine with that.

My post is for the second Share Your World contest by @reonlouw. I won last week with a strange entry that I thought would win nothing. So let's hear about your holiday tradition and I'm pretty sure you can beat me this week even though this entry is not strange (maybe).

before and after stomach poster fitinfun.jpg

Please start here to kick obesity to the curb:

Set Your Goal for Weight Loss
Anyone can beat obesity if I did. Please ask me and I will help you do it too.

Help Us Stay on Steemit

If you would like to help my son @bxlphabet and I stay on steemit, but your upvote is just not enough, here are our wallet and PayPal addresses where we will be so grateful for any help. Any input or ideas will also be so welcome.

@bxlphabet just wrote his first ulog post recently, and I could not be more proud of him. Please take a look to find out a bit of detail about our situation and why obesity is something we both fight to stamp out.

BitcoinCash - BCH

1Bmcyk8Fk9micU3RWjWu3H1P2fvHyj71d6

Bitcoin - BTC

362ncqbi6qJn1daB8mrRrjYYWJ2HwpvcPZ

Dash - DAS

Xs7xdJHeRHRqdwF8RQuo6tPHUdXPm7viZp

Litecoin - LTC

Lhuh274DFkS6CNq4SJjhNem242QYwcTu59

Byteball

6IMJINL2UG3XPT2WJDUGNGBDC4HUCOXL

PayPal SE Asia:

[email protected]

PayPal US:

[email protected]

Sort:  

When reading the requirements for this contest my thought went to Workers Day May 1st, which is supposed to be celebrated around the world.

What changed my mind? The shops remain open, people who should have a day off don't get it, changed my mind completely.

Labor day sounds like the type of day off anyone would enjoy, no strings/demands attached.

When I was in the US 20 years ago I worked there in a restaurant. And celebrated Labor Day ... in work. The restaurant was full whole evening till midnight!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 68029.30
ETH 3272.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64