Introduce Yourself - SharePoint Developer

in #sharepoint6 years ago

I've already done an #introduceyourself where I detailed the farm I live on, the homesteading and self-sufficiency I do, however, I want to do another one introducing myself as a SharePoint Developer.

I originally got my degree in horses, but when I had maxed out my earnings early on, and was just scraping by working 16 hour days I decided I needed a change of pace. It seemed like if you didn't own the farm, you never made any of the money the farm brought it.

I took a series of temp jobs and was pleasantly surprised when I turned out to be a quick learner and easily impressed every boss I worked for with my work ethic. Looks like the years at the barn paid off.

I landed a temp job doing strict data entry for a Fortune 500 company. The data entry was in SharePoint, and I really enjoyed learning about the tool and working in it. I went to the manager and said, "you should hire me." So he did. (Ok - it wasn't THAT easy. I had to do a temp-perm position for a few months, but it really seemed that easy in hind-sight).

Unfortunately, he hired me in a SharePoint support role...but I had only had a few weeks of experience USING the tool, not supporting it! And there was zero training available. I was told to look at our support tickets, and google the problem. Call the users and ask for details. If I still couldn't figure it out, go to the more experienced folks and ask them.

It was trial by fire. And the first few months were insanely stressful. But I started getting the hang of it. And within 6 months I was confident with the tool, confident in my role, and closing out tickets in record time.

A few years later I'm working at a different Fortune 500 company as a SharePoint developer. Again - I find myself in a trial by fire. I know SharePoint inside and out, but I'm still teaching myself how to code. I've gone through a number of the online trainers available, but my job involves reverse engineering someone else's code, figuring out why it's broken, if it needs to be as customized as it is, and basically floundering until I stumble upon something or decide it's better to rebuild from scratch.

The reason behind this story, however, is to set the stage for what I want to do with Steemit.

I have a number of people come to me complaining about their jobs. They're under paid, over worked, under appreciated. My immediate answer is to learn SharePoint! I get emails and phone calls on a daily basis asking for interviews for SharePoint positions. The pay is ridiculous, and it's an extremely rewarding career! Plus SharePoint is NOT that hard to learn.

So I want to start a SharePoint series on Steemit that I can point them to, and make it available to anyone else who is interested in learning about SharePoint.

I envision a two part series: one where I'll walk through trainings and explanations in a SP 101 format, and another where I'll detail specific work examples and how I solved them.

If you have any SharePoint questions, or want to learn about anything specifically, please comment and let me know! I'd be happy to write something up for you!

Sort:  

Really interesting story! Going from working on a farm to Sharepoint development seems like a pretty big change (And quite impressive). Actually, Sharepoint is one of these things I never really spend time with, so it's going to be interesting to read some stuff about it!

My parents were both IT project managers and programmers. I swore up and down I would never work in a cubicle!! But as I got older I realized that a 401k and AC would actually be pretty nice! I never expected to LOVE IT as much as I do. It's challenging, fun, engaging...I can use all of my abilities and aptitudes every day and solve big problems for people that make their jobs easier!

And guess what...I bought a farm last July! So my theory about owning a farm vs working on a farm was right ;)

Welcome :) Do you have any recommendations to get into SP? very interested!

Hi @djowa! The biggest obstacle I've seen to getting started in SharePoint is the lack of access to a SharePoint environment. If you don't have access to a SharePoint site in your current company (or school if you're a student), I would recommend getting a personal SharePoint site: https://products.office.com/en-us/sharepoint/compare-sharepoint-plans This will allow you to get into the environment and familiarize yourself with it and play around! The tricky point is, when you interview for a SharePoint position, they'll probably ask you about past projects or difficulties you've overcome working in SharePoint. But without any business use cases, or customers, it's hard to invent your own projects. That's one thing I hope to provide in my blog series!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61491.31
ETH 3387.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50