You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Overcoming Impostor Syndrome

Imposter syndrome... as a former graduate student, I know that one well. It sounds like the roots of mine are quite different. I come from a highly educated white family, where advanced degrees are simply expected, but those expectations echoed and multiplied in my mind to a deafening degree. No matter what I accomplished, it was never enough. Of course, being female does play into it a bit, when society constantly undervalues or underestimates your intelligence and only validates your own insecurities. It's those small moments where all of the evidence you've aggregated to show yourself that the imposter syndrome is really just in your head collapses like a house of cards.

The imposter syndrome took me a long time to get over. Ultimately it was a matter of finding a comfort in not being the smartest person in the room, which I was never going to be in any PhD program. I had to acknowledge that no matter what, I have my own individual talents and qualities that make me special and make my presence worthwhile.

Sort:  

I'm glad you were able to move out of impostor syndrome. It sounds like you're in a much better place now—hopefully I can get there, too!

Just know that you're wonderful and special and you bring to the table things that nobody else can offer! It doesn't matter how you got there or who else is doing what. And the fact that you did this all on your own as a woman of color without crazy legacy families giving you a leg up into academia is amazing.

Aw, thanks! I'm working on accepting myself and being proud of what I accomplish. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70287.75
ETH 3955.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66