Paying a Photographer’s Worth

in #share2steem6 years ago

Paying a Photographer’s Worth




Photo by: William Trinh


When I posted my last article: “How I’m Getting Scammed by Photographers” a lot of photographers on Instagram were outraged and slammed me for posting it.

➡️ I am more than willing to pay for photographers who:



Arrive to the photo shoot as a professional.



For example, the photographer who shot Albert’s photo above — William Trinh sent a courtesy message before the scheduled shoot time to let me know he was on his way. When he arrived to the shoot he messaged me that he had arrived. I greeted him at the door and he promptly entered the facility to begin the shoot. Awesome. That is the type of photographer I enjoy paying full price for.

NOT a photographer who messages announcing that they have arrived to the shoot location — then sit outside in their car taking a non-emergency phone call from their accountant for 10 minutes. Keeping us waiting for them at the front door not letting us know how long they’ll be, while they chat on the phone.

Sure, things come up where you might have to cancel on someone. That’s life. But I am not sure why people considered it okay for a photographer to let me know that he won’t be able to make it to shoot only when I message him.

Have the ability to direct the photo shoot.



Yes, I know most photographers have never even spent time with a cat let alone photograph one. Albert is much more docile and calm than most cats, dogs even, which is the advantage we have. He stays still for photos relatively well and only has the problem of looking away from the camera. I am not expecting photographers to be an expert cat handler.

But what I am expecting is for a photographer to direct the shoot and not the other way around.

They should take photos from different angles and positions without me having to continuously ask them throughout the shoot like the talented photographer Robyn Arouty did with this awesome Roomba shot she took.

When I arrived to the shoot she had prepared different ideas and props for the shoot. She took the time to explain to me what concepts she thought would look good. A photographer who after being given the product and Albert planned out how she wanted to execute the shoot. Yes, I love it!


Photo by: Robyn Arouty


Maybe I am too spoiled from hiring the photographer who took Albert’s Tide photo, Guillaume Dutilh? The client wanted photos where it is clear that we are spraying furniture and not Albert because the product is a fabric spray, all while keeping the product label in focus. Even though the configuration was difficult to say the least, Guillaume directed the shoot with expert precision.


Photo by Guillaume Dutilh


I consider myself extremely lucky to have even met and hired a photographer of his caliber. He had me hold the bottle this way and that way to see what looks better. He had me hold it higher or lower depending on which angle he was positioned. Guillaume tried different color pillow combinations as well as placement. He would have us relocate to a different part of the room to try a different setup. When something unexpected happened he was quick to react to change to get a better photo.

So I understand that maybe some photographers are not as advanced in photography yet and are still learning. I’ve never taken a photography course so correct me if I’m wrong but I assume even in Photography 101 they teach taking photos at different angles? High angles, low angles, positioning the camera in different positions? Maybe also different distances? A little closer, a little further?

Not a photographer who takes every single photo standing in the exact same spot at the same level while never repositioning the camera.

If I have to continually direct the photographer for the duration of the shoot to try this angle or maybe move over to to this corner for better lighting, that’s totally fine with me — I don’t mind. If the photographer doesn’t know how to photograph a product next to a cat and has to wait for my instruction every minute of the shoot, I also don’t mind. Really, I don’t.

But then I am thinking I should be paying less money for this photographer’s services. Is that unreasonable of me??

Pricing.



All these amazing photographers I have listed were upfront and clear with me about their rates from the get go on all fronts; their ad, their website, their social media profiles, and their messages/emails. The quality of their work and professionalism more than matched what I paid.

They did not advertise: “I do not depend on a set price for my service but instead ask customers to pay what they feel the product/service is worth to them.” and set their Facebook profile photo with the words “PAY WHAT YOU CAN” in all caps.

They did not wait for me to message them to cancel and reschedule the shoot, find out that I make money with influencer campaigns, then tell me their real rate.

$100/hr is MORE than reasonable for a photographer. But what about that kind of photographer?

Or for a photographer that complains to me as he’s packing up about that equipment is heavy, saying he wants an assistant to unpack/pack and carry it for him. Not to help him during the shoot mind you, but an assistant just to carry his gear to his car 15 feet away.

Or what if their photos are only okay?

Appreciating if exposure is given and not feeling entitled to it.



A lot of comments say I’m such an awful person that I don’t credit the photographer who I paid for.

Photographers spend thousands of dollars on their equipment and craft. They don’t give their services for free, they charge for them. I have also spent thousands of dollars to build Albert’s account but because I don’t have physical equipment I am expected to give mine for free in addition to their standard rate?

One of the photographers did not like the exposure he got from the last article because it was negative, even though he was the one who was asking for exposure. He proceeded to spam me with dozens of messages saying things like “Take me off that f’ing article”.

I am free to express my opinion, even if people don’t agree with it.

Good photography and professionalism is definitely something to be valued and paid for.




Christine Look

Lifestyle Enthusiast. Owner of Instagram famous @albertbabycat


Posted from Medium via Share2Steem

Sort:  

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 100% Upvote. Send 0.5 SBD or STEEM to @steemvote

I think your article is right on, Christine. Any so-called professional who sits in his car for ten minutes when he's suppose to be working doesn't deserve the job. And as a photographer myself, any "pro" who can't direct the shoot himself isn't worth paying. It's very sad that all those people on instagram defended others who are unprofessional and have terrible work ethics. Don't let them bother you.

@foxlinker Thank you SO much for this comment, I really appreciate it! I was going crazy reading all those Instagram comments.

You're welcome. They're all way off base. They must be lazy jerks too. Why else would they defend the lazy jerks you were talking about. But believe me all photographers aren't bad. Just keep looking until you find a good one. Best of luck.

At the end of the day, like any other product or service, a photographer's worth is only what someone is willing to pay. As you say, this will depend on the quality of their product and service to a large degree.

That’s really great article about real, Professional photographers, and non professional but think their pro photographers. Totally true I love this article.👍

Love that Lil Guy, and also your honesty.!

Too often we compliment folks who are far from deserving of it just to try to make them like us, or do a better than sub par job.

I am an amateur, but occasionally I get a Gem Like this one. Sammi Jo has a crush on your Lil Albert. She is a Big Girl, and lets us know it.... LOL

Glad you made the move to Steem, and we love what You & Yours are doing. We will be following along. And hope you like the Sammi Jo & KrazzyTrukker posts also. 489648974551008~2.jpg

Congratulations @christinelook! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.
You published more than 10 posts. Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ChristineLook from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

@christinelook, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62922.70
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83