Camera Cadamera

in #shanghai6 years ago

Been taken out of my regular music practice routine by a new camera I just purchased. That is the Yi 4k.

Quick summary... if I didn't live on the other side of China's firewall, I would love it. But as it turns out, the camera cannot double as a dashcam as it needs to connect through wifi, meaning the vpn needs to be turned off. Platforms like youtube and Dlive need a vpn to work in China, so.....

Anyway.... it took a lot of my time to figure that out by trial and error. There were a couple of posts on my steemit saying I was going live.... I'll have to ture off that option in future.

Actually, if I were better with computers I'm sure there may be a little hack to get around the vpn issue. It was a bit of a shame, cause I liked how tiny and wide the lense was. I had plans to record live performances and riding my bike around the French concession. But this time it wasn't to be, and I'm sending it back.

I did however manage to take some short vids this week. I had my parents visiting and we went to the old town behind the bund. Quite an amazing area! Amazing that it still exists, because that area would be prime real estate. The local people must have really put up a fight to still be there.

Here's a link:

So........ Now I need to find a webcam that simply connects via usb. And I'll just use my phone for live gigs.

Sort:  

sad that you have a billion people and
cant overturn your government and have freedom of access.
fascism comes in many flavors. i wish you the best. <3

Well... like everywhere else has its good and bad points. The vpn issue is more of an annoyance. But I do feel that Chinese people miss out on learing about the rest of the world because of blocking youtube and google etc.

ya, i have learned so much in the past ten years.
you guys have alternatives tho? somewhere where you could learn to screen print like i did without going to school or a library which almost nothing on the subject?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60791.78
ETH 2917.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34