Say it aloud four times

in #shakespeare7 years ago

images-1.jpg
Ken Ludwig: How to teach your children Shakespeare

R: Reading

新文档 2018-01-04_1.jpg

I: Interpretation

From this paragraph, the author shared two keys to memorizing the line of poetry:

  1. Say it aloud.
  2. Repeat it (four times)

A1: Connect to your own experiences

When I had my piano class several years ago, the most effetive way of mastering a piece of music was saying it out when I was playing it. It was against traditional way of learning the piano. In tradional way, you don't say your notes out when you are playing. It is believed that it will break the fluency of the music. But the way of saying notes out worked for me. So I kept learning my piano this way, and I didn't see the harm. I guess say it aloud method is easier to stimulate our nerve cell to bulid new neural connections when we are green hands in a new field.

Repeat is the other key the author talked about. I believe it is the key for us from clumsy to skilled when we learn something new. As the old saying goes, "The meaning of a book will become clear if you read it many (hundreds of) times." In my learning experiences, repeat is the only choice you have when you meet something you don't understand. For exmaple, the first time I met the word Serendipity is in the movie called Serendipity. I try to pronounce it fluently but I couldn't! The only way for me was repeat it again and again. And it became as natrual as the native speaker at last. So I guess Repeat is the effective way for our brain to get familiar with new stuff.

A2: Design your future applications

From the author's sharing to my own experiences, Say it aloud and Repeat are two powerful tools for us to improve understanding and skills. So I will practise them along with my learning especailly English learning. I will apply them in this book reading. When I feel I can't understand the meaning of the sentence, I will say it aloud and repeat it till I understand.

Sort:  

Congratulations @yihang! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @yihang! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58999.04
ETH 2518.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46