Shadowrun

in #shadowrun7 years ago

The 6th world is gritty. It's a high tech world with magic, Elves, Dwarves, Orks, and Trolls where if you are not a Dragon, the only real question is, "How low down the food chain are you?" Whether you are the puppet CEO of one of the megacorps, a wage slave, or one of the many SINless, there's a monkey on your back, chummer, and it's just begging for attention. Vast swaths of cityscape are abandoned to junkies and squatters. Much of what's left that doesn't belong to the corps is the territory of local gangs ready to feed your every addiction. Mind your back AND your front and just maybe you'll even make a living.

I've always loved dystopian fiction. A bleak, perhaps not-too-far-off future where totalitarianism is rule of law and your average plebe can look forward to getting put in his place each and every day seems almost like an inevitability. Adding in a few high fantasy elements like metahuman races and magic creates a universe I have come to love. This is the world of Shadowrun.

For the last few months, I run a weekly game in Meatspace. If this post gets enough upvotes, I'd be happy to post notes and recaps here to Steemit, so aspiring GMs and fans of the genre in general can read through them to base their own adventures on.

Disclaimer - I have NO relationship with Topp who own any and all rights to the Shadowrun logo and content. If you like their game, I encourage you to buy their source materials for yourself.

Sort:  

I'm somewhat interested in your experiences with the rules, how long you've been playing, what edition you're playing (and somewhat how long you've been playing RPGs).

I personally don't like Shadowrun 5E's rules, even though the setting is amazing.
But alas, there are different opinions than mine (as shown by Shadowrun still selling).

Wow! You've given me a lot to discuss in your rant, so thanks for that! I look forward to addressing many of these points. My perspective may be a bit different from yours. I've been playing tabletop games for almost 30 years. When 2nd edition AD&D came out, we were like, "WTF is this bullshit?!?!" Eventually we all bought in though. Change is hard. I actually like a lot of things about 5E. I hope you'll follow and see how I deal with some of the problems you point out (like the hopelessly difficult chargen process).

Are you a Shadowrun player, GM, or just sci-lover in general?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47