Show Me A Shadow Round 100 Entry- Boxelder Bugs

in #shadowphoto5 years ago

I was waiting for this special Week 100 to post this because I have many shadows of Boxelder Bugs, and because I couldn't decide on the photo I wanted to use to enter the shadow photo contest.

Congratulations Melinda on Week 100!

A shadow is cast with a source of light,
Blocked is the light, what a delight.
On any surface it can appear,
Far away, or near.
The dark shapes are a work of art,
Near and dear to Melinda's heart.
Shadow Hunters came from far and wide,
With shadows captured, to join the fun ride.
Congratulations on Week 100! Let it be known,
The shadow contest hit a big milestone.
"Keep bringing your shadows!" She shouts to those,
How many more hundreds? Only the shadow knows.

Eastern Boxelder bugs (Boisea trivittata) are native to North America and are a nuisance in autumn because they like to warm themselves in the sun on the sides of your house. I usually have a minimum of 50-75 at one time but this year I got lucky because there were only a few.

If you have Boxelder or Silver Maple trees you know all about these bugs because that is where they live, and they feed on the seed buds in the spring and the leaves in the summer. I haven't seen these trees in my neighborhood but that doesn't matter because when they leave the trees in autumn, they can fly up to two miles looking for a warm place to spend the winter.

They are in the same family as stink bugs and if you crush them, they release a terrible odor.

Look for them around your windows. These bugs were trying to get into my house through my new, downstairs bathroom window. but they were not successful.

Get down ! Go away!

Thanks for stopping by!

All photos are my own.

Information Source: umn.edu

Sort:  

A Shadow poem! How delightful! You made my day!
Great box elder bug shadows. I'm resteeming.

I am glad you liked it. Thanks for turning me into a Shadow Hunter! : )

I love the poem. The bugs are creepy, but they do make for good shadow photos. I'll have to check out this contest.
The prompt for felt.buzz's zapfic contest this week is "milestone" BTW. It's a fun contest if you've never tried it. It's not easy to write a story in 240 characters!

Thanks @owasco. Yes, please check out the photo contest. It is a lot of fun.
I have been entering @felt.buzz's ZapFic contest for several months but thanks for the info just the same. : )

amiga @whatisnew, estos insectos no me gustan, son oscuros y parecen cucarachas. Pero el poema si está agradable. Saludos.

@whatisnew friend, I don't like these insects, they are dark and look like cockroaches. But the poem is nice. Greetings.

Nobody likes these insects. LOL! I am glad you liked the poem. Thanks, my friend. : )

Wow what irritating little guys Butterfly! Y'all have an awful lot of bugs for being so far North! This was a good one for the tag though, well done.

They sure are Jonboy! They really look horrifying when there are 50 or more of them together like I usually get. This neighborhood has a lot of trees, bushes and gardens so that is why we have so many bugs. But you know how much I love that. LOL!

Well you might want to move South at some point but it sounds like you're living in paradise as far as bugs and insects! lol. But only for part of the year and I know that's the problem.

You know me well Jonboy! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68091.64
ETH 2633.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68