Shadow Photo Contest - Book Shadows and Grief

in #shadowphoto6 years ago (edited)

My submission to the #shadowphoto contest 33 sponsored by @melinda010100. Theme is Book Shadows.

I can’t use this book for the shadow photo without explaining how I came about to write it.

The book, Child of Danaan, with the shadow of my hand, contains the true story of my spiritual journey after I lost my only child, Kevin, in an automobile accident.

My grief journey was helped by knowledge of Celtic Irish history and mythology concerning the children/people of Tuatha De Danaan.

Book Shadow

image


I wrote this little book in 2006 with the hope it might help others, who are grieving, to know there is life after death and our loved ones know and care about the ones left behind.

The cover of the book was designed by me. I drew the Celtic cross and took the mystery photo in the middle of the book. It is of a childlike person who magically appeared at Kevin’s gravesite. He (of the mystical Danaan) was guarding the portal between the worlds and he allowed Kevin to come through the portal, for a brief moment, to let me know he was alright.

I am forever grateful for that brief moment I was allowed to see my son with his auburn hair and the little crooked smile. It lifted me out of the deep well of sorrow to a new understanding.

Some things I have learned;

  • Whether experiencing sorrow, regret or anger, one must allow the heart and mind to go through the stages of grief.

  • Nothing can help with missing the presence of a loved one but I know we must not stay in a state of grief too long - it holds their spirit earthbound.

I often pondered, “Why take my son before me?”

On a positive note, I am thankful for the years I had with Kevin and realize that was my gift.

This may sound like the ramblings of a delusion griefing mother but I truly believe most of us have had some kind of spiritual experience whether we acknowledge it or not.

I have the original photos of the two mystical appearances, at Kevin’s gravesite, taken in 1999 with my old 35 mm Kodak camera.


This is one of my favorite photos of Kevin and I taken in the 1980’s.

The picture was taken in a studio by a professional photographer.

There was eighteen years difference between my son and I.

After a brief romance, I married my ex, Kevin’s father, at seventeen, right out of high school.

Many things I would like to do over but I never regretted being a teenage mother.

It was a honour to have been his mother, albeit, too briefly, on this earth.❤️




Contest Info

Camera: iPad Air for the book shadow

Photos & Text @redheadpei. All Rights Reserved





F0E33BE1-23F2-4B8B-BDBD-068BF127059F.jpeg

#thealliance






Picture1.png

image


Much Love & Blessings!

Sort:  

What a treasured book shadow this is. Thank you so much for sharing your incredibly impactful story. You have touched my heart, my friend.❤ Thank you so much for sharing this.

A really beautiful story Jo! I'm happy you were given such a lovely experience! I always tell myself that out time here is short and we will be together with our loved one one day! ❤

Thanks Dee for your kindness and support. ❤️. No one person really knows the whole story of our existence but our time here is short and we need to remember to make the best of it.

You're welcome Jo!!

My dear friend, thanks for sharing your grief journey with us. It's my greater fear at all, and always was. I can't even imagine what you went through. But I'm happy to know that you kept going and cherish the memory of the times you have with your beloved son. I'm touched by your story and the mystical appearances you witnessed.
This last Sunday my daughter passed by a horrible experience that could have ended in a tragedy, which made me realize and feel blessed by having her alive and well.
I will write about it when I cool off.
My dear Joanne, you will always be in my heart and my prayers. God bless you. Big hug.

it is a parent’s greatest fear that their child would pass before them. I never thought I would experience it.
Nolasco, I’m so glad your daughter is safe. Things can happen so fast and unexpected.
Stayed blessed. Much love 💕

Yes, it is, and I'm truly sad you passed by that. You are a brave woman, and you will be Kevin's mother forever.
And yes, I'm aware things can change in a moment. That's why I always fear for my kids, with no anxiety, though, but trying to enjoy them fully.
You stay blessed to, my dearest. Much love back.

Words cannot describe how much I was touched by your srory. Big hug. ❤

Thanks you Neli. 🤗 and blessings dear friend.

Congratulations @redheadpei! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you for sharing your beautiful story, Jo. And it sounds as if you had some mystical experiences too. Such a lovely idea to put it all into a book.
💜

You are welcome @bananamemos. I thought I needed to write it down, even if it only helped one person.because of the premonitions ahead of Kevin’s accident and the appearances at the gravesite. 💕

You had premonitions before his accident?

Thanks @alom8 for the resteem and your continued support. ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73