Smoke Shadows From 39,999 ft!

in #shadowphoto6 years ago (edited)

Smoke Shadows From 39,999 ft!

Yesterday while flying over Utah I noticed a power plant spewing smoke that was creating massive shadows! I quickly grabbed my camera from the carry on and was trying to figure out an angle to shoot down through the small window when the pilot banked the airplane and it came into full view. These mile long shadows don't look so impressive from 39,999 ft. but it was synchronicity in flight that helped me to document them.

smoke shadows BW.jpg enlarge

Perhaps the captain was aware of the the Shadow Photo Contest when he decide to give me a good angle... I made sure to thank him on the way out!

smoke shadows.jpg enlarge

I photographed the smoke shadows with my Canon 5D camera and 70-200 mm lens.

Thank you @melinda010100 for creating the Shadow Photo Contest and @nolasco for hosting!

Join the contest:

Smoke Shadows


U5dssCqyQ8N9j5ewV5rAaNKA8Pqykev_1680x8400.png

Thanks for the art @overkillcoin... minnows, dolphins, whales... I’m down with squid!

Sort:  

No way! Did you thank him for me too? That is amazing, and I am not only thrilled that you saw that but that you thought to grab a picture for the contest!

Ha ha... of course... you have trained me well! It was really uncanny because it was a six hour flight with almost no turns and right when I was trying to work out the shot the plane banked in the direction of the smoke. After that, since I had the big camera out, I was able to shoot some other interesting stuff up there too. So thank you!

I'm so glad that you got it on the first go, it's not like you could have asked him to go back for a second take! Hope I get to see your other photos soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59702.71
ETH 2542.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54