What is Steem Freelancers and how it could change your life?

in #sfg7 years ago (edited)

I have your typical 8-5 job that entails me to interview people, create content and corporate branding initiatives, make reports, settle disputes between employees and employers, met out warnings, and discipline and also create fun activities to boost morale and engagement.

From time to time I also do maintenance, aircon repair and IT trouble shooting, A sort of jack of all trades to whatever is needed to be done.


Source

After work I typically go home or socialize with friends and love ones for a bit, walk my dog, have dinner,a bath and then off to Steemit.

I have an advance case of Steemit Addiction because I cut off some time from sleeping and playing video games but it's ok for me because I am reading a lot and happy to have a creative outlet.

I like going randomly through the different tags from time to time just to discover interesting people and in one of the posts I was reading I saw a comment from @steemfreelancers about the use of the #steemgigs tag and I remember seeing something similar to another post before and it was @thatsweeneyguy was educating someone of its use.

It immediately piqued my interested and saw that he was handling the account. I have to give the guy some credit for being persistent in correctly educating people on the use of the tag #steemgigs because there is just so many people using the tag without really knowing what it is for, To be honest I was one of those when I first started because it was incorrectly taught to me.

In its core the steemgigs tag should have been used to find people offering a service or looking to hire for one.

Terry is a nice guy and all and he is deeply altruistic that he wants everyone to have a chance to offer something. Yet the tag has become sort of a vote beg to get his attention and upvote their post.

So what is @steemfreelancer

According to their introductory post linked here.

If @steemgigs is the hand, then @steemfreelancers will be the glove.

The SFG will be a collective of freelancers who are serious about their trade, and want to find more frequent work. By partnering with as many freelancers as possible, offering a wide variety of services and products, the Guild will be able to approach, and be approached by, other community projects whenever work needs to be done. We will promote services to possible interested parties, actively searching for opportunities for our members.

They are looking for graphics artists, photographers, coders and webdevelopers, marketing and content creators or basically anyone that can offer a service to another person in Steem.

If interested you can go to their website https://www.steemfreelancers.com/ or join their Discord server under https://discord.gg/S3vGgYh

So why am I trying to promote them?

It's really simple because I believe in their mission to provide more frequent work to freelancers through the Steem Blockchain. Websites like Upwork, Fiverr and Thumbtack have a high transaction cost for hirers and all take a certain percentage to the worker's rate. Which is natural because they would have over costs to pay so how will @steemfreelancers be any different?

TRANSPARENCY

A lot of the grief of freelancers are the blind bids for projects. By having a post of how much you are offering for a service or how much you are willing to pay then it is very upfront. Payment or non-payment can be seen.

EASE OF FINDING TALENT

There is just so many content right now and by having SFL be a community that anyone can join and offer their talent and other individuals and communities can go to SFL and choose the right fit for them.

COMMUNITY BASED INTERACTIONS

Working for Upwork and being an employer at the same time it was hard at times to create lasting relationships with people, You always had the fear that the next payout will not push through or the client will find someone cheaper.

Steemit is all about building connections and relations,

PROTECTING THE WORKER AND HIRER

Although Upwork can both have reviews of workers and hirers my experience with it was it still favored the hirer heavily. Bulk of the revenue they earn would be with them from all the transaction fees that they have.
Their ticketing system of complaints are often not acted quickly enough (This is my experience 4 months ago so if it has gotten better then good for them)

SPEED OF PAYOUT

Steem has one of the fastest speed of transactions in the market today. With a lot of freelance sites it often goes into escrow and will be paid out after 20-30 days usually.

image.png

Source

INCENTIVES

SFL would also be using a voucher system

We will create a system by which Steemit users can redeem vouchers for services offered by Guild members. These vouchers would be worth varying amounts, and backed by Steem/SBD in the @steemfreelancers wallet. Vouchers will be able to be given away through contests and other promotions, and will increase the overall work output of the Guild. This will allow people who wouldn't normally purchase goods or services to do so without spending their own money.

What can I offer @steemfreelancer

I honestly don't know. I'm largely untalented in the arts. I don't really write well enough to be hired as a writer of content. I currently have a lot of responsibilities in mentoring new members of the @steemitfamilyph and other on going projects I have in Steemit, not to mention we are already starting with donation funding for our Gift In Kind Foundation for Sitio Banawen so to be swamped is going to be an understatement.

image.png

Source

Yet I want to do anything I can to help support the project. One of my aims if to get talented Filipinos involved in the project. A lot more Filipinos are shifting to an online home based job because of traffic and opportunities it presents.

To give you perspective the daily minimum wage here in the Philippines is P512 pesos which is about $10.24 USD. That is now tax free because of recent tax reforms but will be further deducted by mandatory benefits like SSS (Social Security System) which is the local insurance program run by the Government and Pag-ibig (Love) or Home Development Mutual Fund (HDMF) which is the government housing savings initiative.

In a month a person earning minimum wage would earn P10,752 or $215.04 USD. You'll have to deduct the government mandated benefits, transportation costs, food allowance and uniform or clothing as needed.

If a person can earn at least 2SBD a day computed on a 30 day period using $4 USD as average price. The person can earn $240 or P12000 in the comfort of their own home. Taking care of their kids and having a work life balance.

That is the dream of any simple Filipino. I want people to reach that dream and if I am able to change the life of even one person then I am happy.

So this is why I am supporting @steemfreelancer and I hope you will too.

SFL logo.png

Steemitfam.jpg
steemitachievers.jpg

Sort:  

This made us think thoroughly about what we can offer to thethe community. Our current skill sets include video editing, basic photography, hair and makeup, financial analysis and crazy entertainment.

Hmm, will there be anyone willing? Haha.
By the way, thanks for the information.

We would love to see what you have to offer the Steemit community!

When you're ready to start advancing your freelancing career with the @steemfreelancers guild and #steemgigs, don't hesitate to get in touch!

As we all try to hone our crafts by producing quality videos, maybe there will be someone who will need our asisstance. The key perhaps is to really pour our hearts out in this passion. The more love we give, the more people will appreciate its beauty.

We will definitely keep in touch soon! :)

I can think of at least 2 projects that may find use of explainer videos in the near future, including us! We'd love to have you as a member!

Steemit is of endless possibilities so we all have something that we can offer :)

naku sir, this one's got alot of new knowledge to have, thanks for sharing i am interested and i know i need this, i mgiht have to try and chwck @steemfreelancers , but yeah sir, you got lots of worl to do, you must be very multitasking 😁 , but sir, really thanks for always adding new knowledge for us, for me, 👏👍❤️❤️❤️

Whatever I can do to help :)

I’ve read the same article about steemgig and steemfreelancers and been thinking a lot if I have some service to offer. Well,I’m a mediocre artist, writer and my Japanese is... shall we say, may need a little polish but steemfreelance and steemgig would be a great side line while grinding my 8-effing-hour- hell called work. LOL

Are you crazy! You're a great artist who can offer a lot!

Try it. We all need a gig and it will be something that you love doing.

Kagaling mo magsulat kuya!

This is awesome. Aside from photography, my corporate job is digital marketing and on free time, i cater web dev and graphic works

Yeah I thought about you and how this would be great for you.

Need lang talagang ilabas ang mga natatagong talent...

Great post tnx for sharing I just upvote check out my post steemit all the way

Plus, you missed my last post.. There is a special paradigm to it. Check out @steemgigs post afterwards incase you want to contribute

Oh I haven't missed that and already scoped out the utopian side of steemgigs.

@ankarlie and I have been discussing some plans and we want to really help you out.

This is #petmalu.

I'm really interested not because of the money but because it will help me widen my horizon. And improve on my skills.

Nice Job

Keep it up

God bless

Fantastic write up of our cause! Thank you very much for spreading the word!

Happy to help out and get the word out :) it's a great initiative that I will help out .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81