Fantasy Football Update 🏈 (plus TB12)

in #sff20186 years ago (edited)

I'm playing against friend of this blog @pittsburghhodlr and the SixBurgh HODLrs this week.

We're both 2-2 and looking for the pivotal win.

Here's a link to the league page for anyone not in the league who wants to see what all the fuss is about: https://football.fantasysports.yahoo.com/f1/1194197 😮😎

Point of order: I still owe the league prize pool for the rewards from several of the posts I've made, I've just been lazy in digging thru and sorting it out :p

It's small potatoes anyways. @mellofello is our biggest bread winner and he deserves our thanks.

Remember that every post tagged 'sff2018' means that the liquid portion of rewards are being donated to the prize pool.

And the current prize pool can always be viewed by looking at the Savings portion of my wallet.

And, as announced before the season, the payouts will be:

  • playoff champion: 50%
  • playoff runner-up: 20%
  • playoff 3rd place: 10%
  • regular season points leader: 10%
  • participation ribbons: 10%

The 'participation ribbons' 🎀 portion is divided up among everyone commensurate to how many regular season wins you get. So even if you feel the season slipping away, every game means something and is worth winning.

I have to quibble a little with the great Tom Brady here:

I have to be even more of a nerd and an intellect than he is.

It happens at @3:27 "we have a 93% chance of winning when we don't turn the ball over, and that's pretty good"

First I should say that the answer in general (to what they asked him, about balls bouncing off of receivers' hands) is excellent and the mark of a winner.

But the 93% thing is a problematic way of looking at it. It's result-oriented. You win 93% of the time when you don't turn the ball over when you're not deliberately focused on not turning the ball over.

Taken to an extreme, it would be easy to never turn the ball over. You just kneel down every play. But it'd be an awful way to try to win. So that can't be your primary focus. The best ways to score points involve some risk of turnover. So the focus should be on equity and doing the best things every time rather than "no turnovers".

It's hard to argue with results and I'm sure Tom intuitively does what I'm saying. Obviously he doesn't play in a wildly risk-averse sort of way. And erring away from turnovers is probably hard to be too much of a mistake, and a good thing to grip your mindset onto. So no big deal. And he might be next-level just saying that as a cliche sort of thing. But I can't listen to something like that and not comment on it.

Great game this week, Tommy.

Sort:  

There's a weird divisional split emerging.

Steemit Standings Week 5

The top three performing teams (pointswise) are in Division 1. Four of the six sub-400 pt teams are in Division 3. And Division 2 sits in the middle.

And Division 1 also has the top 4 "points against" teams which fit with that narrative.


The 93% quote rubs me the wrong way for a few reasons and part of it is the point you're making about not making it your primary focus. I also think it's just not helpful information. I could also say "You win 9x% of the time when I throw 5 TD passes" or "You win 9x% of the time when we allow no TDs", and it's generally true, but of course it's true.

I don't mean to give Brady a hard time here, I just roll my eyes for a few different reasons. It's obvious that turning the ball over is bad, and if I'm Belichick, I wouldn't want Brady telling the media anything that's helpful or insightful, so ok. I guess it's why I avoid nfl press conferences and such

I could also say "You win 9x% of the time when I throw 5 TD passes" or "You win 9x% of the time when we allow no TDs", and it's generally true, but of course it's true.

Right! Haha. When you execute something successfully, it correlates with a high chance of winning.

And that example highlights it well.. you wouldn't say "well, we really need to focus on throwing 5 TD passes".

#nerds #outnerdingBrady

Ya the division thing is wild!!! We'll see if Division 3 can get their act together.

In another universe, ShowMeTheQuan is 3-1 and cruising in Division 3, but instead he's getting roughed up.

Big game between you and Christopher today!!

Topher's all-in on Cincy ain't he

My kicker was strong this week, and Brees did the rest.

And you gave Topher his first loss! The history books will always show that.

Ya! First Jimmy G went down and then he picked up Boyd, and it quickly turned into that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31