Disco Sally @ Jelly's Disco- St. Thomas

in #sexismsteempaybusiness4 years ago (edited)

Disco Sally
@

        Jelly's Saturday  Night Fever-
                 St. Thomas- U.S.V. I.
                            1979

Boozing it up on the east end of St. Thomas,it is now about 3:30 am., I decide it would somehow be a wonderful idea to hit Fat City on Charlotte Alkalies infamous Back Street, before it closes at 4 a.m.

It takes me about twelve minutes to arrive there in my Jeep, my buddy and fellow party animal/ passenger Flying Fish Frank thanked me for the “ride”, after crossing himself with imaginary rosary beads that is.

We bop in, both wasted of course, there is only one other client sitting at the opposite end of the bar, we order our drinks, Frank soon decides to split, drink in hand of course, this after all is Back street, and adjacent to the correctly named piss alley to top it off.

So now it's just me and this disheveled looking bar babe, she looks to me to be maybe 35 or so,hard to tell as her hair was in her face and her drink.

I am soon to open Jelly's Disco at Sub Base, modeled after Studio 54 in NYC, Studio has a “Disco Sally” as part of its dance floor entourage, she is in her eighty's and dances as if she was twenty.

I decide that this bar babe might just pass for Disco Sally Island Style.

I approach her after buying her a last call drink, last call a telling omen I am thinking.

I ask her if she would be interested in my Disco Sally promotion, she says , and I quote: Why the F not?, I agree, and the in my mind at least historic deal is made.

Jelly's opens and all is cool, Sally is a regular, and I decide to one up Disco Sally Studio 54 NYC, by letting Jelly's Sally do a special lanced floor show with Pete one of Jelly's waiters, Disco Sally Kin Kon.png

I rent a gorilla costume for Pete to wear and Rusty the DJ is to play a tune whose lyrics repeatedly say : “gotta have a woman”, “gotta have a woman”, quite randily if that is even a word, if not, so what.

Sally is to dance solo as the floor is cleared for showtime, then Pete is to come out of nowhere, gorilla crazy,throw her over his shoulders and disappear. He has his woman!

On opening night however Sally shows up without the required bikini costume for her part in the show. So? I take some Green dining table linen napkins and improvise a bikini. Sally ties them together, boom/bikini!

Sally then strangely covers herself with Vaseline, she said it was to cut down on the glare of the show lights and celebrity photographers flash bulbs whom she expected to be there somehow?
![image.png](,

Jellys Disco Sally with St. Thomas Milt Branch Police Commissioner 1979

I say, okey dokey, she asks me just before hitting the dance floor how she looks, I tell her : Green, and also quite shiny,just like a star! why do you ask? She missed the joke?

Show somehow goes off perfectly and becomes a hit feature.The crowd would always went ape kaka no matter how many times they saw the show, a bad pun? I know, so what?

Unfortunately this deludes Sally into thinking she is the star attraction, and she has the attitude of a Diva.
image.png

Studio 54s Disco Sally

This delusion all comes to cause problems, ,and will be explained in our next Show story” “Jelly's Charlie Prose variety Show” aboard the SS America aircraft carrier, moored in St. Thomas harbor.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59568.13
ETH 2951.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55