You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are you prejudiced if you tell a sexist joke?

in #sexism7 years ago

I generally agree. Context is important, when someone is just joking it does not mean they approve of what they are joking about, however.. Sometimes even with "just joking" it can still be too much and offensive for certain people.

This is an area I think about somewhat often, cause I believe in free speech and think we should be able to joke about virtually anything, however.. I find it to be poor taste when comedians take that to the extreme just for shock value or whatever. I don't think joking about someone dying right after they die is appropriate unless perhaps that person was a mass murderer or something really horrible. Once again.. Context is really important... Though even with that.. Sometimes, I just don't get the humor or the comedy other than the fact that someone is just trying to be as absurd and go against the grain as much as possible which can be funny in it's own way, yet still.. Some people go too far in my opinion, especially right after innocent people are killed and stuff like that.

PS I found your post from Facebook where a friend of mine tagged me, I don't really do follow for follow anymore, but.. I found this post of yours thought provoking so I'll give you a chance based on just this post alone and I'll give you a follow. :) Look forward to seeing more from you in the future! Good luck here on steemit!

Sort:  

thanks for the interaction. Thought provoking is what I was aiming for lol. I'll try my best to keep you interested. My plan is to use steemit as a medium for my opinion as a Brit, on current events in the US. I hope I can keep you riveted to my page.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57831.03
ETH 3136.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42